Indigenous Journalism
The following links provide sources for local, national, and international Indigenous journalism.
Please visit our Indigenous Journalism Writing Guide for information on reporting ethically and responsibly on Indigenous issues.
Newspaper Databases
These newspaper databases contain some Indigenous newspapers (eg. Windspeaker) and some Indigenous news content. For a more effective search, use subject terms eg. "colonialism and colonization," or "Indigenous activists," which are located in the description of articles.
Databases with Indigenous Content
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines. - Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political and social change, providing a comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Its scope is international and interdisciplinary providing in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Maximum 1 simultaneous user.
Canadian National Indigenous News
- APTN NewsNational news that provides comprehensive coverage of the indigenous news stories.
- CBC IndigenousThe latest news and current affairs from Indigenous communities across Canada
- First Nations DrumFirst Nations Drum is a national newspaper with an Indigenous community focus.
- Turtle Island NewsTurtle Island News is a weekly newspaper with a national focus based out of the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations. It was started in 1994.
- WindspeakerPublished by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society (AMMSA), Windspeaker is Edmonton-based and includes national content. Access is available through the public site or via TMU Library from 01/04/1993 to 01/31/2017.
Regional and Community Indigenous News
- Alberta SweetgrassPublished by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society (AMMSA), this monthly newsletter serves Aboriginal communities throughout Alberta. TMU coverage is from 12/01/2007 to 12/31/2015 in Gale OneFile: CPI.Q.
- Anishinabek NewsThis monthly community newspaper is produced by the Communications Unit of the Anishinabek Nation at the head office in Nipissing First Nation.
- The DiscourseThe Discourse provides community-powered journalism to underserved communities, including Indigenous communities in British Columbia.
- The Eastern DoorThis is a community-based newspaper from Kahnawake Mohawk Territory in Quebec.
- Ha-Shilth-SaHa-Shilth-Sa is Canada’s oldest First Nations newspaper and is the newspaper of record of the Nuu-chah-nulth people. It has been published by the Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council since 1974. Ha-Shilth-Sa reports on the activities and initiatives of the Nuu-chah-nulth peoples of the West Coast of Vancouver Island, and provides a First Nations’ perspective on news from Vancouver Island, around the province and across Canada.
- IndigiNewsIndigiNews is a partnership between APTN and the Discourse to cover Okanagan Valley
community news - Ku'ku'kwesKu'ku'kwes is a news website dedicated to covering Indigenous news in Atlantic Canada.
- Métis VoyageurThis is a newsletter of the Métis Nation of Ontario.
- Northern News Services LimitedThis aggregator provides access to several community newspapers published by Northern News Services, including Northwest Territories News, Nunavut News, the Yellowknifer, and more.
- Nunatsiaq NewsNunatsiaq News is the newspaper of record for Nunavut and the Nunavik territory of Quebec. It has been published since 1975, and issues from 1997 to present are available online.
- Saskatchewan SageLaunched in 1996, Saskatchewan Sage is a news publication specifically designed to serve the Indigenous people of Saskatchewan. Library access is available from December 2007 to February 2013. Publication ceased in 2016. Articles are indexed at Saskatchewan Sage.
- The Two Row TimesThe Two Row Times is a free weekly news publication aimed at Ontario Indigenous communities as well as Haudenosaunee communities in the United States.
- TVO IndigenousTelevision Ontario (TVO) is a publicly funded English-language educational television network and media organization serving Ontario.
- Wawatay NewsPublishes in English and Indigenous languages of northern Ontario, including Ojibway, Oji-Cree, and Cree. It also publishes multimedia content including videos and podcasts.
News Magazines
- Muskrat MagazineMUSKRAT is an online Indigenous arts and culture magazine that honours the connection between humans and our traditional ecological knowledge by exhibiting original works and critical commentary.
- The NationThe Nation Magazine is an independent Indigenous news source serving the Cree of James Bay, including Northern Quebec and Ontario, since 1993.
- Tusaayaksat MagazineTusaayaksat Magazine covers news for the Inuvialuit People with a focus on arts, culture, and history.
- The TyeeThe Tyee is an independent, online news magazine from British Columbia founded in 2003 focusing on the West Coast from Alaska to Northern California.
International Indigenous News
- National Indigenous TimesAustralia: National Indigenous Times (NIT) strives to be the most comprehensive Indigenous online news site in Australia by offering rigorous reporting on the issues that affect Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
- The Circle NewsUSA: The Circle is a community newspaper that publishes from an Indigenous perspective and is located in Minneapolis, MN.
- Indian Country TodayUSA: This national news site features the work of Indigenous news journalists and aggregated news content with an Indigenous focus.
Indigenous Journalists to follow on Social Media
- Diversify your news challengeDuncan McCue has put together a list of top Indigenous journalists and experts to follow
- The TwitteratiThe Indigenous voices edition of an annual list
Research Guides & Key Documents
- Indigenous Research PortalThis TMU Library Guide lists resources to start your research on Indigenous topics. It includes key resources that focus on Indigenous people in Canada and around the world.
- First Nations and Indigenous StudiesThis guide published by the Xwi7xwa Library at the University of British Columbia contains useful research tips and resources.
- Xwi7xwa Research GuidesThe Xwi7xwa Library research guides include a treaty guide, new media guide, and more.
- Indigenous FoundationsIndigenous Foundations in an information resource on key topics relating to the histories, politics, and cultures of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada.
- Key Documents related to Residential SchoolsOSSTF/FEESO has compiled a list of resources that educators can access to learn more about the history and impact of Indian Residential Schools on First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples in Canada as part of the process of reconciliation.
- United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous PeoplesThis document is a key resource for learning about Indigenous Rights.
Journalist Associations
- Native American Journalists AssociationNAJA serves and empowers Native journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures.