Research Guides: Criminology: Find Articles

Best Bets

Criminal Justice & Criminology
The Criminal Justice & Criminology collection offers an historical overview of how criminal justice has changed in American and English law and the effect criminology has had in facilitating those changes. It collects government documents as well as rare or hard to find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals.

For help, refer to Criminal Justice & Criminology Libguide.
Criminal Justice Database
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
CriminalSource
CriminalSource is a WestLaw product. CriminalSource provides access to the largest collection of Canadian Criminal Cases and links directly to any section of the Criminal Code of Canada with CriminalSource™.

NCJRS Abstracts Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS) contains summaries of U.S. and International publications, including government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. Subject coverage includes: alternatives to incarceration, community involvement, correctional facility design, corrections technology, crime mapping, court management, courts, crime deterrence and prevention, criminal justice statistics, criminology, defense technology, domestic preparedness, drug policy, human resource development, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police training, probation and parole, and victims of crime.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Access to Toronto Metropolitan resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Preferences as follows:
- Go to scholar.google.ca and click on the Settings icon ☰
- Choose Library Links from the left-hand menu
- Enter Toronto Metropolitan in the search box
- Click in the box beside Toronto Metropolitan University - Check TMU Libraries
- Scroll down and click on the Save button
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
PsycARTICLES (APA PsycNET)
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
PsycINFO (APA PsycNET)
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1806 - current
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts is the fundamental tool for access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Produced by Sociological Abstracts, Inc., the database contains abstracts from 1,809 journals published since 1963 and enhanced bibliographic citations for dissertations added since 1986. Sociological Abstracts references journal articles, dissertations, book abstracts, chapter abstracts, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software.
Web of Science
Web of Science is the online version of the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Users can search 8,500 international research journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The Web of Science also provides cited reference searching