Librarian
What is a Systematic Review?
"A systematic review attempts to collate all empirical evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria in order to answer a specific research question. The key characteristics of a systematic review are: a clearly defined question with inclusion & exclusion criteria; rigorous & systematic search of the literature; critical appraisal of included studies; data extraction and management; analysis & interpretation of results; and report for publication." -- Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives
A systematic review differs from a traditional literature review or narrative review, in that it aims to be as thorough and unbiased as possible, and also provides detailed information about how the studies were identified and why they were included.
Prior to starting your own research, you will want to look at existing systematic reviews - this is especially important so that you don't duplicate existing work. It can also be helpful to look at the approaches taken for systematic reviews similar to your own topic or discipline. You can find existing systematic reviews a number of ways:
- They can published as journal articles – to identify them, add "systematic review" as an additional search term in databases, or look for limits if available. Here’s an example of a systematic review published as a journal article
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews: includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid duplication and reduce opportunity for reporting bias by enabling comparison completed review with what was planned in the protocol.
- The Campbell Collaboration is an international network which publishes high quality systematic reviews of social and economic interventions around the world
Below are some books available at the Toronto Metropolitan University Library & Archives discussing systematic reviews:
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Call Number: LB1047.3 .B66 2016ISBN: 9781473912465Publication Date: 2016-08-15Getting started on your literature review -- Taking a systematic approach to your literature review -- Choosing your review methods -- Planning and conducting your literature review -- Defining your scope -- Searching the literature -- Assessing the evidence base -- Synthesising and analysing quantitative studies -- Synthesising and analysing qualitative studies -- Writing, presenting and disseminating your review.
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by Call Number: Q180.A1 I58 2017ISBN: 9781473929432Publication Date: 2017-05-05Focused on actively using systematic review as method, An Introduction to Systematic Reviews provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this practical text carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism. The Second Edition features a new chapter on statistical synthesis and introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis, including text mining, living reviews, and new ideas in mixed methods reviews, such as qualitative comparative analysis. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice.
Doing a Systematic Review by Call Number: R853.S94 D65 2014ISBN: 9781446269688Publication Date: 2013-12-20If you are a Masters or a PhD student conducting a systematic review for your dissertation or thesis, then this is the book for you! Written by an expert team of authors with years of experience in conducting systematic reviews and supervising students doing systematic reviews, the book provides a roadmap to guide you through the process. The book addresses the following questions: - What's the best way to manage my review? - How do I formulate an appropriate review question? - How do I develop my search strategy? - How do I get started on data extraction? - How do I assess the quality of the studies I'm using? - How can I analyse and synthesise my data? - How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis? - Where should I publish my data? Throughout the book, the authors make extensive use of questions posed by real students when carrying out reviews to help you through some of the challenges you may face. Like a team of supervisors in your pocket, this book will provide you with the tips and tools for a successful dissertation.
For more Information see our in-depth guides:
What is a Meta Analysis Study?
Meta-analysis is a research process used to systematically synthesize or merge the findings of multiple, independent studies, using statistical methods to calculate an overall effect.
| Systematic review | Meta-analysis | |
|---|---|---|
| METHOD | Systematically search for, appraise, and synthesize research evidence | Statistically combine the results of quantitative studies to provide a more precise effect of the results |
| FORMAT | Results are typically narrative, may have tabular component | Results are graphical and tabular with narrative commentary |
| CONTENT | Analyzes what is known; recommendations for practice. Identifies what remains unknown; uncertainty around findings, recommendations for future research | Numerical analysis of measure of effect assuming absence of heterogeneity. |
University of Manitoba Libraries - Systematic / Meta-analysis reviews
Resources:
Møller, A.M and Myles, P.S.(2016) What makes a good systematic review and meta-analysis?, BJA: British Journal of Anaesthesia 117(4): 428–430.
Munn Z et al. (2018)Systematic review or scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approach. BMC Medical Research Methodology.18:143.
Uman, L. S. (2011). Systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Journal of the Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 20(1), 57.