Finding Books and Ebooks
To identify books on your topic, use OMNI on the Library homepage, and limit your results to Books & Ebooks. To help the accuracy of your results, identify some keywords to use that best reflect the content you would like to find. You may wish to review some search techniques before starting your research. You can also search for books by author or title, if known.
Ebooks are accessible online 24/7 - if you are off-campus, you'll be asked to login with your torontomu account. The Library subscribes to many ebooks related to Occupational Health and Safety and Public Health.
Most print books in the library are located on floors 5 through 10. Reserve books are located on the 2nd floor. With a few exceptions, books are shelved according to an alphanumeric sequence of call numbers.
Most books related to Occupational Health and Safety are located in the HD call number section on the 7th floor. Additional material is found in other call number ranges. To assist you in browsing the collection, try the following areas:
| Industrial Hygiene. Industrial Welfare | HD7260-7780.8 |
| Canadian OH&S Law | KE3365 |
| Ontario OH&S Law | KEO671 - KEO689 |
| Toxicology | RA1190 - RA1270 |
| Industrial Medicine. | RC963 - RC969 |
| Industrial Safety | T55-55.3 |
| Human Engineering (Ergonomics) | TA166-167 |
Most books related to Public Health are located in the RA call number section on the 9th floor. Additional material is found in other call number ranges. To assist you in browsing the collection, try the following areas:
|
Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine |
RA421-790.95 |
| Environmental Health | RA565-600 |
| Disease (Communicable and noninfectious) and public health | RA643-645 |
| Epidemics. Epidemiology. Quarantine. Disinfection | RA648.5-767 |
| Mental health. Mental illness prevention | RA790-790.5 |
Titles from the Collection
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual by ISBN: 9780875533230Publication Date: 2022-02-28Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 21st Edition, is the trusted source for public health professionals on identifying and controlling infectious diseases for over 100 years. The updated edition includes new chapters on SARS-CoV-2, Zika, and many more. This landmark publication is essential to all those in and around public health.
Essentials of public health by Call Number: RA445 .T87 2016ISBN: 9781284069358Publication Date: 2016What is public health? -- Measuring population health -- Public health and the health system -- Law, government, and public health -- 21st-century community public health practice -- Public health emergency preparedness and response -- Public health workforce -- Public health administration -- Environmental and occupational health -- Public health nursing -- Epidemiology and disease control -- Public health education and information -- Additional public health professional and technical occupations -- Public health practice : future challenges.
Occupational health and safety for technologists, engineers, and managers by Call Number: T55 .G63 2019 - Reserve, 2nd floorPublication Date: 2019Occupational Health and Safety for Technologists, Engineers, and Managers, Second Edition was written to fill the need for an up-to-date, Canadian, practical teaching and learning resource that focuses on the needs of modern health and safety professionals. It is intended for use in universities, colleges, and corporate training settings that offer programs, courses, workshops, and seminars in occupational health and safety. Educators and students in such disciplines as industrial technology, manufacturing technology, industrial engineering, engineering technology, occupational safety, management, and supervision will find this book both valuable and easy to use.
Pocket Consultant by ISBN: 9781119718628Publication Date: 2022-03-02In the newly revised Sixth Edition of Pocket Consultant: Occupational Health, an accomplished and distinguished team of researchers and practitioners deliver a fully updated overview of current occupational health practices. The book offers a complete, international perspective that includes discussions of issues like migrant working populations, and new chapters on occupational exposure in different industries and specific processes. Special issues such as working hours and shift work, alcohol and drug use testing, eHealth, military populations, fatigue, and sleep disorders are also discussed at length.
The Design, Implementation, and Audit of Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems by ISBN: 9781000750980Publication Date: 2019-11-20This book covers the design, implementation, and auditing of structured occupational health and safety management systems (SMS), sometimes referred to as safety programs. It covers more than 60 processes, programs, or standards of a system, and gives important background information on each element. Guidelines and examples show how to design and implement the risk-based processes, programs and standards, and how to audit them against standards.
ISO 45001 Implementation by ISBN: 9781000566215Publication Date: 2022-04-19This book provides guidance in establishing an occupational health and safety management system linked to the requirements of ISO 45001:2018. In addition to the requirements of the standard, this book includes industry best practices, methods, and techniques to address these requirements. While clarifying each requirement of the standard, it also discusses the steps needed to achieve the requirement, areas that auditors may check, and mandatory or voluntary documents that may be maintained or retained to demonstrate conformity with the requirement.
