Theses and Dissertations

The TMU Library collects and makes accessible graduate dissertations (Ph.D) and masters level theses as well as some masters level major research papers.

The TMU Library Digital Repository contains the most complete collection of these documents, online, and searchable from the website and via search engines like Google. Older documents may also be found in the TMU Library catalogue. The library no longer collects print copies of theses and dissertations.

To search for documents from a specific programme, try using a keyword search that includes the words "ryerson"  "dissertations" and a couple of words from the name of the programme such as "communication" "culture" or "mechanical" "engineering."

• Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
  Provides access to over 5 million theses and dissertations from over 1,100 colleges, universities and research institutions around the world.
   
• Google Scholar
  Many universities currently receive graduate scholarship in digital formats only and have embarked on digitization initiatives to make older documents available online. Google Scholar is a useful tool to find this type of material.
   
• Theses Canada Portal 
  Provides access to the full-text of many Canadian theses and dissertations.
   
• ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT)(Access Restricted to TMU Community)
  Provides access to the full-text of over 400,000 Masters and PhD theses from 1997 onwards. In addition, citations are provided for over 1.6 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North American and European (including the UK and Ireland) graduate schools from the seventeenth century onwards.

• DART Europe E-theses Portal
  Provides access to research theses from 580 universities in 28 European countries.
   
• NDLTD-Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  An international nonprofit organization promoting the dissemination of electronic theses and dissertations.  It includes finding aids for digital and some print resources.
   
• Canadian Theses = Thèses canadiennes [1947-1980 print; 1985/86-1995/96 on microfiches]
  Indexes masters and doctoral works from Canadian universities.  Most of the masters works and some of the doctoral works are not listed in PQDT nor Theses Canada Portal.  Other print bibliographies of Canadian theses may be of value including Canadian Graduate Theses: 1919-1967: An Annotated Bibliography (Covering Economics, Business and Industrial Relations) and Jesse J. Dossick's Doctoral Research on Canada and Canadians, 1884-1983

Undergraduate theses for Civil Engineering are kept by the department.

A complete list of codes used and the department/school (some of which no longer exist) follows:

• LE3.R99 AC     Dept. of Applied Chemical & Biological Sciences
• LE3.R99 AE     School of Aerospace Engineering
• LE3.R99 AR     Dept. of Architectural Science
• LE3.R99 CB     Dept. of Chemistry, Biological & Chemical Engineering
• LE3.R99 CE     School of Chemical Engineering
• LE3.R99 EC     School of Early Childhood Education
• LE3.R99 EE     Electrical Engineering Dept./Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering
• LE3.R99 EH     School of Environmental Health
• LE3.R99 GE    School of Applied Geography
• LE3.R99 HT     School of Hospitality & Tourism Management
• LE3.R99 ID      School of Interior Design
• LE3.R99 IE      School of Industrial Engineering
• LE3.R99 LS     Dept. of Laboratory Science
• LE3.R99 ME    School of Mechanical Engineering
• LE3.R99 OP    School of Occupational and Public Health
• LE3.R99 PR    Continuing Education Division. Public Relations Project
• LE3.R99 SE    Dept. of Survey Engineering
• LE3.R99 UP    School of Urban and Regional Planning

This guide has been created by the Toronto Metropolitan University Library and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License unless otherwise marked.