Search Everything - Peer-Reviewed Articles
General Article Databases for F+PPCM
The following databases are a good place to start finding peer reviewed articles on topics related to photography and film history and preservation. For advice on how to search, using boolean operators, and identifying scholarly resources, look at our Library Instruction guide.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. - Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to the full text of several Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has created a full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers, current issues (usually the last 3 – 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. The Toronto Metropolitan University Library has access to the entire content of JSTOR’s archival journal collections. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides online access to the full text of over 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, mathematics and many others.
Toronto Metropolitan now has access to the following 2022 collections: African Studies, Gender Studies, History, Language and Linguistics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Music, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Philosophy and Religion, Political Science and Policy Studies, Public Health and Health Policy, Russian and East European Studies - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is the online version of the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Users can search 8,500 international research journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The Web of Science also provides cited reference searching
Film Journals & Databases
Film Databases
- AFI Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Index to Film Periodicals offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals from 1972 to the present day. - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Academic Film Journals
Historical Film Journals and Magazines
- Media History Digital LibraryA free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Photography Journals & Databases
Academic Photography Journals
Historical Photography Journals & Magazines
How to Search with Keywords
Your keywords are the main concepts or ideas of your paper.
For example the keywords for a paper on “youth employment in Canada” would be:
- Youth
- Employment
- Canada
Use synonyms: Often there are multiple ways to express the same concept. For example these synonyms mean essentially the same thing – make sure to use them:
employment can also be:
- job
- work
- career
Use “AND” and “OR”: By bridging your truncated keywords and synonyms with the capitalized search words “AND” and “OR” (known as Boolean operators), you can search for multiple concepts effectively.
We Have More information on Search Techniques