Research Guides: History, Africa: Websites

Historical / Cultural / Sociological

The Danish West Indies - Danish State Archives
Records created before 1917, concerning the small Danish colony consisting of three islands, St. Thomas, St. John, and St. Croix that were sold to the U.S.A. in 1917 and are now know as the United States Virgin Islands.
Content includes: The Danish Slave Trade: Timeline for Teaching Purposes
The West-Indies: Sources of History
The National Archives (UK) – Africa Through a Lens [Open Access]
Photographs from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection, spanning over 100 years of African history from the 1860s onwards.
South African History Online [A Not for profit site]
SAHO has over two decades become the largest and most comprehensive online website on South African and African history and culture. SAHO website, is linked to a partnership programme with universities, schools and community based history projects. It has become an integral part of the higher education landscape and the go to website for information on South African and African history
seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Contains information about almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The actual number is estimated to have been as high as 12.5 million. The database and the separate estimates interface offer researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.

Ancient Egpyt -- Books page from History, Ancient @ Toronto Metropolitan University

Canadian Association of African Studies (CAAS)
The Association has four goals: To promote the study of Africa in Canada;To make Canadians more aware of the problems and aspirations of Africans;To inform Canadian policy on and in Africa; To facilitate exchanges and linkages between Canadian and African universities and research institutions. It publishes the multidisciplinary journal: Canadian Journal of African Studies.
Centre for African Studies, Dalhousie University
Institute of African Studies, Carleton University
McGill Institute for the Study of International Development, African Studies Program
The New College at The University of Toronto, African Studies Program
African Studies Association
The African Studies Association encourages the production and dissemination of historical and contemporary knowledge about Africa. The ASA is based in the United States and aims to cultivate a better understanding of the continent, taking a holistic approach to its areas of focus. This includes all facets of Africa’s political, economic, social, cultural, artistic, scientific, and environmental landscapes, to name a few.