Historical Films Including Newsreels, Radio and Other Media
- AP ArchiveThis film and video archive of The Associated Press includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895, sourced both from AP's own coverage and from our premium content partners. It includes the British Movietone collection of newsreels from 1895-1986.
- British Movietone ArchivePerhaps the world's largest newsreel archive spanning 1895-1986, this site is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky.
- British Film Institute (BFI) YouTube ChannelPresents content from the BFI's impressive archive of film, video and television programs.
- British PathéBritish Pathé is a dynamic cross-media company and a market leader in the licensing of footage to the broadcast industry. The company is a major supplier to production companies, museums and advertisers worldwide
- British Pathé YouTube ChannelNow considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world, British Pathé is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance.
- Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British EmpireThis website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by our academic research team.
- Moving Image Archive (Internet Archive)This rapidly growing library of digital films, movies and video can be limited to categories including News & Public Affairs, and Television Archive News Search Service
- UN Radio ClassicsAn online archive of documentary and dramatic programmes that offer a unique way of experiencing key historical moments of the United Nations and of the world throughout the second half of the 20th century.
- National Archives (UK) -- Panjab 1947: A Heart DividedThe National Archives has recorded the narratives of four Panjabi elders uprooted from their homeland during the Partition of British India in 1947. At least 18 million people were uprooted and one million died in the mass migration that followed.
Select Motion Pictures with Decolonization Themes
- A United KingdomCall Number: DVDPublication Date: 2016, released as DVD 2017Prince Seretse Khama of Botswana causes an international stir when he marries a white woman from London in the late 1940s. When they decided to marry, just as apartheid was being introduced into South Africa, it caused an international uproar. However, their passionate romance triumphed over every obstacle and changed the course of African history.
- The Battle of Algiers = Le bataille d'AlgerCall Number: DVDPublication Date: 1967, 2004 releaseDramatization of the conflict between Algerian nationalists and French colonialists that culminated in Algeria's independence in 1962. The DVD set includes documentary films about the historical events and about the making of the film.
- Cry FreedomCall Number: DVDPublication Date: 1987, released as DVD 1999The true story of the friendship between black activist Stephen Biko and white newspaper editor Donald Woods, who was instrumental in bringing Biko's anti-apartheid message to the international community.
Additional Audio Visual Resources @ TMU
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming service that provides the platform to a host of educational video productions covering a wide range of subjects, from arts, humanities, health, business, education and more. The collection has over 800 video titles from various producers.
The majority of the videos are closed captioned and clip-making is allowed. - Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Our title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
Will Criterion-on-Demand work on my mobile device?
All movies available on Criterion-on-Demand Digital Rights Management (DRM) for playback. Unfortunately, Apple’s IOS, Google’s Android, and Microsoft’s Windows Phone 8 operating systems do not officially support DRM – therefore Criterion on Demand will not work on a mobile device.
Does Criterion-on-Demand support playback via screen sharing apps?
Criterion-on-Demand does not support playback of feature films via screen sharing apps such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, Google Meet, and others. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos. Toronto Metropolitan has access to Master Academic Collection and World Cinema Collection. Master Academic Collection is a video collection of 39K titles, with many well-known producers, such as A&E, PBS,National Geographic, TED, and HBO Documentary Films. World Cinema has 1000+ foreign language films.
- In the Year of the PigCall Number: Streamed video from Kanopy. DVD also available.Produced at the height of Vietnam War, Emile de Antonio's Oscar nominated 1968 documentary chronicles the war's historical roots. The savage and horrific images speak for themselves in perhaps the most controversial film of de Antonio's career.
- A Split India: Negotiating IndependenceCall Number: Streamed video from KanopyPublication Date: 2017
- Britain and Its Empire in the 1940sCall Number: Streamed video from KanopyPublication Date: 2017
- Indian Nationalism and the Freedom StruggleCall Number: Streamed video from KanopyPublication Date: 2017
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Film is a digital streaming platform with access to thousands of movie and documentary titles from film studios and producers such as Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures and MGM Studios. - Curio This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curio.ca includes news reports, documentaries, and archival material, as well as programs like The Nature of Things with David Suzuki, Doc Zone with Ann-Marie MacDonald, and Enquête with Alain Gravel. The portal has seven main subject categories – Arts, Business, Education, History and Geography, Health, Science, and Social Sciences.
Curio - News in Review is now available through Toronto Metropolitan's Curio subscription. Access Curio - News in Review. - NFB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Canada’s public producer and distributor, the National Film Board of Canada creates interactive works, social-issue documentaries, auteur animation and alternative dramas that provide the world with a unique Canadian perspective. The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction.
Many DVDs, Video recordings, and some streamed video released through Films for the Humanities & Sciences can be found in the online catalogue. Use the fim's name as author to see all titles: