Subject Librarian
Journal Databases
Databases are searchable collections of articles from a variety of journals, usually related to a specific topic or subject area. You can also find articles through "Search Everything" on the Library's homepage, but the databases listed below are ones that may provide higher relevancy to New Media topics.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. - DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides online access to the full text of over 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, mathematics and many others.
Toronto Metropolitan now has access to the following 2022 collections: African Studies, Gender Studies, History, Language and Linguistics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Music, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Philosophy and Religion, Political Science and Policy Studies, Public Health and Health Policy, Russian and East European Studies
Journals
You can also browse and search individual journals. This is a great way to keep up with the most recent articles, or discover what topics are curerently being explored in a certain discipline.
- ApertureAperture, a not-for-profit foundation, connects the photo community and its audiences with the most inspiring work, the sharpest ideas, and with each other—in print, in person, and online.
- AfterimageThe Journal of Media Arts and Cultural Criticism has served as an important voice in the media arts. The journal features unique, high-quality coverage of digital media, film, games, photography, television, video, and visual arts, as well as addresses important issues and debates within art history, media studies, visual and cultural studies, and related fields.
- Art JournalProvides a ideas and opinions that focuses on critical and aesthetic issues in the visual arts of our times.
- Artforum InternationalArtforum is an international monthly magazine specializing in contemporary art.
- Border CrossingsInvestigates contemporary culture through a combination of articles, reviews, interviews and portfolios of photographs and drawings. More curated than edited, it occupies a vital place in the geographic centre of the North American continent.
- LeonardoLeonardo, founded in 1968, has become an international channel of communication for artists who use science and developing technologies in their work. With emphasis on the artists' writings, Leonardo is the leading international journal for readers interested in the application of contemporary science and technology in their work. The companion annual journal, Leonardo Music Journal (LMJ) features the latest in music, multimedia art, sound science and technology.
- OctoberCritical attention on the contemporary arts and their various contexts of interpretation.
- ParachuteBilingual contemporary art magazine.
- New Media & SocietyProvides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change.
- Media and CommunicationMedia and Communication (ISSN: 2183-2439) is an international open access journal dedicated to a wide variety of basic and applied research in communication and its related fields.
- International journal of performance arts and digital mediaDraws on research from the rapidly developing interface between new technologies and performance arts. Topics include cultural mediatization, live performance with interactive systems, and motion capture technologies, among many others.
News Sources
Newspapers can provide access to information about exhibitions, contemporary reviews and critiques of exhibitions, films, and books, and interviews with artists, curators, and directors.
- Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full Text Coverage from 1977 hosted on Proquest Platform. See ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail for older material. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1844 - 2020 - Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to the full text of several Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s. - US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream is part of Global Newsstream. It enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1851 - 2020 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1894 - 2021 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, The This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1877-2007
Reference
For background information on your subject, you can consult reference materials (eg dictionaries, directories, handbooks), usually located on the 2nd Floor, Reference, or electronically available on the web. Check the Library catalogue for both print and on-line resources or the "Reference Shelf" from the Library Homepage. Some useful reference resources related to New Media are:
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies has recruited many of the finest scholars in cinema and media studies to chart a path through the information thicket and toward a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites. With frequent updates, Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies is an essential resource for students, faculty, and researchers.