Research Guides: History: HIS104: Ten Days That Shook the World

HIS104: Ten Days That Shook the World

Welcome to the library research guide for HIS104: Ten Days That Shook the World.

This course explores transformative moments in history in order to understand their underlying causes and their social, cultural, political, and economic impacts on human beings and their societies. Each topic introduces students to the diverse ways historians practice their craft and seek understanding of the past and historical change so that they develop a deeper appreciation of what history "is" and "does" by considering multiple means of exploring and making sense of the past.

Explore this page for useful resources and tools that will help you navigate this course.

This technical drawing and plan of The Bastille in Paris, France, was created and printed by unknown hands in Italy, likely in 1789. Original in the Bibliothèque nationale de France, from the collection of Carl de Vinck. Reproduced from the Stanford University digital collection French Revolution Images: Iconography from the collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

purl.stanford.edu/ry334xr2674

Useful Resources

TMU Libraries subscribe to many databases ideal for historical analysis, which are accessible to the TMU Community.

Visit the Journals and Articles page for vital databases that contain information not available on Google or Omni.

The following databases may be of particular use for this course.

Historical Abstracts
This database contains abstracts of articles from journals relating to the history of the world (excluding Canada and the US) from 1450 to the present. Also included are abstracts of important books in this field.
America : History & Life
America History and Life contains citations, with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Maximum of 6 simultaneous users.
Politics Collection
This collection provides access to renowned databases such as PAIS and WPSA, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
Empire Online
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Oral History Online
Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,500 collections of Oral History in English from around the world.
The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 271,000 pages of full-text by some 9,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 3,000 audio and video files and over 17,000 bibliographic records.

For newspaper coverage, check out our extensive collection of titles available instantly and free through TMU's historical newspaper collection.

Useful Searches

An effective search can reduce stress and frustration, and will ensure you are able to get started on your reading and writing sooner.

For this course, you might think about the following searches to get you started. For guidance on using Omni, TMU's extensive catalogue, check out our 'starting your search' page.

Boycotts
Civil disobedience
Civil rights movements
Democratization
Gay liberation movement United States History
Government, Resistance to
Passive resistance India
Protest movements
Revolutions
Slave insurrections Haiti
Social justice United States
Women Suffrage Great Britain History

[Name of a country or geographic region] -- History -- [may have subdivisions for time period, type of content etc.]

[Name of country or geographic region] -- Politics and government

The Name of a person, or, Name of an organization, or, Name of a building searched as a subject

Name of a topic or event as a subject -- [subdivision for state/country--city]

Keyword / default Omni search for name of a person (may add another keyword)

Keyword / default Omni search for topic

delano grape
defiance south africa
montgomery bus boycott
pro-democracy
storming bastille
tiananmen
tiananmen [Omni Advanced search, Subject contains ...]
saint-domingue [this was the early name of Haiti]

Rethinking the Age of Revolutions by David A. Bell (Editor); Yair Mintzker (Editor); David A. Bell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190674809

Publication Date: 2018-10-02

Much of the historiography on the age of democratic revolutions has seemed to come to a halt until recent years. Historians of this period have tried to develop new explanatory paradigms but there are few that have had a lasting impact. David A. Bell and Yair Mintzker seek to break through the narrow views of this period with research that reaches beyond the traditional geographical and chronological boundaries of the subject.Rethinking the Age of Revolutions brings together some of the most exciting and important research now being done on the French Revolutionary era, by prominent historians from North America and France. Adopting a variety of approaches, and tackling a wide variety of subjects, such as natural rights in the early modern world, the birth of celebrity culture and the phenomenon of modern political charisma, among others, this collection shows the continuing vitality and importance of the field. This is an important book not only for specialists, but for anyone interested in the origins of some of the most important issues in the politics and culture of the modern West.
Revolution by Enzo Traverso
ISBN: 9781839763595

Publication Date: 2024-04-30

"Brilliant and beautiful. Now this book exists, it's hard to know how we did without it." -China Miéville, author of October A cultural and intellectual balance-sheet of the twentieth century's age of revolutions This book reinterprets the history of nineteenth and twentieth-century revolutions by composing a constellation of "dialectical images": Marx's "locomotives of history," Alexandra Kollontai's sexually liberated bodies, Lenin's mummified body, Auguste Blanqui's barricades and red flags, the Paris Commune's demolition of the Vendome Column, among several others. It connects theories with the existential trajectories of the thinkers who elaborated them, by sketching the diverse profiles of revolutionary intellectuals--from Marx and Bakunin to Luxemburg and the Bolsheviks, from Mao and Ho Chi Minh to José Carlos Mariátegui, C.L.R. James, and other rebellious spirits from the South--as outcasts and pariahs. And finally, it analyzes the entanglement between revolution and communism that so deeply shaped the history of the twentieth century. This book thus merges ideas and representations by devoting an equal importance to theoretical and iconographic sources, offering for our troubled present a new intellectual history of the revolutionary past.
Russia : revolution and civil war 1917-1921 by Beevor, Antony, 1946
ISBN: 9780593493885

"An epic new account of the conflict that reshaped Eastern Europe and set the stage for the rest of the twentieth century. Between 1917 and 1921 a devastating struggle took place in Russia following the collapse of the Tsarist empire. The doomed White alliance of moderate socialists and reactionary monarchists stood little chance against Trotsky's Red Army and the single-minded Communist dictatorship under Lenin. In the savage civil war that followed, terror begat terror, which in turn led to ever greater cruelty with man's inhumanity to man, woman and child. The struggle became a world war by proxy as Churchill deployed weaponry and troops from the British empire, while contingents from the United States, France, Italy, Japan, Poland, and Czechoslovakia played rival parts. Using the most up to date scholarship and archival research, Antony Beevor assembles the complete picture in a gripping narrative that conveys the conflict through the eyes of everyone from the worker on the streets of Petrograd to the cavalry officer on the battlefield and the doctor in an improvised hospital"-- Provided by publisher.
The Russian Revolution by Sheila Fitzpatrick
ISBN: 1280444487

Publication Date: 2001-01-01

The Russian Revolution had a decisive impact on the history of the twentieth century. Now, following the collapse of the Soviet regime and the opening of its archives, it is possible to step back and see the full picture. In this classic work, the author incorporates data from archives that were previously inaccessible not only to Western but also to Soviet historians, as well as drawing on important recent Russian publications such as the memoirs of one of the great survivors of Soviet politics, Vyacheslav Molotov. Impeccable in its scholarship and objectivity, the book tells a gripping story of a Marxist revolution that was intended to transform the world, visited enormous suffering on the Russian people, and, like the French Revolution before it, ended up by devouring its own children. In a concluding section that will be of great interest to scholars in the field as well as the general reader, the author treats the Stalinist Great Purges as the last act of the drama of the Russian Revolution.