HST 680 Indigenous North America After 1763

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription which includes over 40 channels that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. Full list of channels available.

AVON includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Curio.ca includes news reports, documentaries, and archival material, as well as programs like The Nature of Things with David Suzuki, Doc Zone with Ann-Marie MacDonald, and Enquête with Alain Gravel. The portal has seven main subject categories – Arts, Business, Education, History and Geography, Health, Science, and Social Sciences.

Curio - News in Review is now available through Toronto Metropolitan's Curio subscription. Access Curio - News in Review.

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos. Toronto Metropolitan has access to Master Academic Collection and World Cinema Collection. Master Academic Collection is a video collection of 39K titles, with many well-known producers, such as A&E, PBS,National Geographic, TED, and HBO Documentary Films. World Cinema has 1000+ foreign language films.

Canada’s public producer and distributor, the National Film Board of Canada creates interactive works, social-issue documentaries, auteur animation and alternative dramas that provide the world with a unique Canadian perspective. The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction.

Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Our title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.

Will Criterion-on-Demand work on my mobile device?
All movies available on Criterion-on-Demand Digital Rights Management (DRM) for playback. Unfortunately, Apple’s IOS, Google’s Android, and Microsoft’s Windows Phone 8 operating systems do not officially support DRM – therefore Criterion on Demand will not work on a mobile device.

Does Criterion-on-Demand support playback via screen sharing apps?
Criterion-on-Demand does not support playback of feature films via screen sharing apps such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, Google Meet, and others.

Kanopy is a streaming service that provides the platform to a host of educational video productions covering a wide range of subjects, from arts, humanities, health, business, education and more. The collection has over 800 video titles from various producers. Toronto Metropolitan also has access to the Kanopy Criterion Collection.
The majority of the videos are closed captioned and clip-making is allowed.

Audio Cine Film is a digital streaming platform with access to thousands of movie and documentary titles from film studios and producers such as Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures and MGM Studios.