Child and Youth Care

CYC-Net contains abstracts for several Child and Youth Care related publications including their own monthly journal, CYC-Online.

Please note that content found via CYC-Net is typically not considered to be peer-reviewed. If you are required to use peer-reviewed articles for your assignment, you should not rely on CYC-Net. It is of professional interest, and can complement your scholarly research, but it should not be your main source of information.

Social Services Abstracts provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Contains scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, economics.
Maximum 4 simultaneous users

This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1806 - current

Sociological Abstracts is the fundamental tool for access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Produced by Sociological Abstracts, Inc., the database contains abstracts from 1,809 journals published since 1963 and enhanced bibliographic citations for dissertations added since 1986. Sociological Abstracts references journal articles, dissertations, book abstracts, chapter abstracts, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software.

ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the US national bibliographic database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education, ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature.
The database also contains full text of the ERIC document collection, which includes a wide variety of resources such as teaching guides, research reports and issue papers. Most of these records are available electronically and can be viewed in PDF format from links within ERIC (requires Adobe Acrobat viewer).

Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.
For information on Scopus APIs, go Elsevier website

SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Toronto Metropolitan has the SRM Core and SRM Subsequent Core collections. Other collections available are:

• SRM Books & Reference (Core)


• SRM Video: Practical Research & Academic Skills Video


• SRM Video: Data Science, Big Data Analytics, & Digital Methods


• SRM Video: Market Research