Education
Towers of Ivory and Steel by Call Number: LA1443 .W56 2024 --- Also available in EbookISBN: 9781804291740Publication Date: 2024-02-13How Israeli universities collaborate in Israeli state violence against Palestinians: Israeli universities have long enjoyed a reputation as liberal bastions of freedom and democracy. Drawing on extensive research and making Hebrew sources accessible to the international community, Maya Wind shatters this myth and documents how Israeli universities are directly complicit in the violation of Palestinian rights. As this book shows, Israeli universities serve as pillars of Israel's system of oppression against Palestinians. Academic disciplines, degree programs, campus infrastructure, and research laboratories all service Israeli occupation and apartheid, while universities violate the rights of Palestinians to education, stifle critical scholarship, and violently repress student dissent. Towers of Ivory and Steel is a powerful expose of Israeli academia's ongoing and active complicity in Israel's settler-colonial project.
Palestine in Israeli School Books by Call Number: DS119.7 .P45 2012 --- Also available in EbookISBN: 9781845118136Publication Date: 2012-04-30Each year, Israel's young men and women are drafted into compulsory military service and are required to engage directly in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. This conflict is by its nature intensely complex and is played out under the full glare of international security. So, how does Israel's education system prepare its young people for this? How is Palestine, and the Palestinians against whom these young Israelis will potentially be required to use force, portrayed in the school system? Nurit Peled-Elhanan argues that the textbooks used in the school system are laced with a pro-Israel ideology, and that they play a part in priming Israeli children for military service. She analyzes the presentation of images, maps, layouts and use of language in History, Geography and Civic Studies textbooks, and reveals how the books might be seen to marginalize Palestinians, legitimize Israeli military action and reinforce Jewish-Israeli territorial identity. This book provides a fresh scholarly contribution to the Israeli-Palestinian debate, and will be relevant to the fields of Middle East Studies and Politics more widely.
Libraries and Archives
- Popowich, S. (2021, May 18). BDS and Library Technology. Sam Popowich Blog. https://www.spopowich.ca/blog/bds-and-library-technology
- Staniunas, D. (2022). A case for library/archives boycott and divestment: ExLibris. Medium. https://boxreceiver.medium.com/a-case-for-library-archives-boycott-and-divestment-exlibris-493737a911c5
- Lefebvre-Danset, F. (2009). Libraries in Palestine. IFLA Journal, 35(4), 322-334. https://doi-org.ezproxy.lib.torontomu.ca/10.1177/0340035209355084
- Mermelstein, H. (2011). Overdue Books: Returning Palestine’s ‘Abandoned Property’ of 1948. Jerusalem Quarterly, 47, 46-64. https://www.palestine-studies.org/en/node/78440
- White, C. (2023). Stolen Pieces of Palestine: Archival Responsibility in the Case of Displaced Archives. The IJournal: Student Journal of the Faculty of Information, 9(1), 49–59. https://doi.org/10.33137/ijournal.v9i1.42235
- “Libraries & Archives Under Occupation: Special Issue on Palestine,” Progressive Librarian, #48, Spring 2021. http://www.progressivelibrariansguild.org/PL/PL48.pdf
Contents in this special issue:
Libraries, Archives, and Palestine: The Struggle Continues, Editorial, page 3 [.pdf file]
History of Palestinian Libraries and Archives Under Israeli Occupation
by Anan Hamad, page 7 [.pdf file]
The International Board on Books for Young People In Palestine
by Mary Fasheh, page 31 [.pdf file]
Libraries in Gaza: Between Despair and Hope
by Mosab Abu Toha, page 53 [.pdf file]
Interview with Mosab Abu Toha, Founder of the Edward Said Public Library, page 67 [.pdf file]
Private Libraries in Nablus Have a Bright Past and an Uncertain Future
by Lara Kanaan, page 75 [.pdf file]