What's on this page?
This page will be particularly helpful for finding secondary research for the Company Background section of your Marketing Audit.
Below, you'll find:
- Recommendations for where to find information on your company's history and management (outside of the client's website)
- Tips for finding company information
Photo by Isabel Lee on Unsplash
Public Company Databases
The following databases will help you find information on publicly traded companies, including their history, management, financials, and more. Read the descriptions below each database to learn more. See the Company Research guide for more recommendations.
-
FactivaProvides company descriptions with several year of financial data and ratios. In addition Factiva provides news items related to the company. To search for a company select company from the Companies/ Markets tab located at the top of the screen.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
-
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new windowGlobalData Explorer is a comprehensive database including cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders, job analytics. GD Explorer meets the needs of multiple disciplines and departments with cross sector coverage.
A note about GlobalData Explorer access:
Sometimes when accessing GlobalData, you may come across a Login page (see screenshot below). If this happens, just click on “IP Access” to access the database.
Private Company Information Databases
Private companies are not required to disclose financial data and business strategies in the way that public companies are required to. This can make finding data on private companies difficult. There are a few databases that may provide some information.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Tips for finding company information
Having trouble finding information on your company? Try this:
- Determine whether your company is a private or public company. Private companies do not have to disclose in the same way that public companies do so it can be harder to find information on them. To find out whether a company is private or public, a quick Google search should tell you.
- Determine whether your company is a subsidiary. Often, there is more information on the parent company.