Librarian
Bikram S. Dhillon and Family Medical Library
Contact:
We are currently available for assistance virtually. Our physical space is scheduled to open in September 2025.
Suggested Reading
-
Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, 7th edition
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2025! Clinically focused and evidence-based,Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, Seventh Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use reference for practitioners and residents in today's Emergency Department (ED). Templated chapters rapidly guide you to up to date information on clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition, including highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls. This concise text covers the full range of conditions you're likely to see in the ED, with unmatched readability for quick study and reference. Emphasizes management and disposition, helping you make effective management decisions for patients with or without a confirmed diagnosis. Contains a unique high-risk chief complaint section, covering frequently seen, critical presentations in the ED, including chest pain, abdominal pain, shortness of breath, and altered mental status. Provides carefully selected tables, diagrams, and illustrations to enhance and augment concise, focused chapters. Features key testing sections throughout as well as pertinent clinical guideline boxes providing practical advice and guidance to increase your knowledge and improve your clinical care. Includes access to additional online-only content (including chapters, figures, and tables) and access to over 1,500 self-assessment questions and answers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Publication Date: 2021 -
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods, 4th edtion
by
"A new, accessible guide to explanations about statistical analytic approaches and methods used in medical research from the experts at JAMA"-- Provided by publisher.
Publication Date: 2019 -
Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th edition
by
"The world's most widely used and most widely respected textbook of Emergency Medicine. Endorsed by the American College of Emergency Physicians"-- Provided by publisher.
Publication Date: 2020 -
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-based Clinical Practice, 3rd edition
by
"The streamlined companion to the classic Users' guides to the medical literature--fully updated and revised. This compact guide condenses the most clinically relevant content of the landmark Users' Guides to the Medical Literature to help you incorporate evidence-based medicine into your practice. You will learn the principles of evidence-based medicine, how your practice can benefit from the constant stream of new medical literature, and how to differentiate good medical evidence from bad. This edition includes several new chapters and a new emphasis on the role of patient preferences and preappraised resources." -- Provided by publisher.
Publication Date: 2015
Study Tools
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
-
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new windowJAMAevidence is an online resource for the teaching, learning, and application of evidence-based medicine. JAMAevidence provides an authoritative, comprehensive website that will help students and clinicians identify, appraise, and use the best available evidence to assess health problems and the outcomes of health care. Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values.
