Finding Journal Articles
Search Everything This search engine searches for books and audio-visual materials that are also listed in the library's catalogue, as well as journal articles, theses and dissertations, newspaper coverage from some recent and a selection of archival newspapers, and digitized content such as out-of-copyright books and journals that are available from sources such as The Internet Archive and The Hathi Trust.
In practice, Search Everything is most useful when searching for journal articles. It is optimized to find journal articles that are available in online format. Use the filters on the left to narrow down the scope of your results.
If you want to search for journal articles that we may only have in print format or that we do not hold, select Search Everything, Advanced Search, and select the box under Expand Your Results to include results from outside of our collection.
If you want to look for books, e-books or audio-visual resource, you should try searching in the Catalogue.
If you want to try a more focused search restricted to subject specific databases and journal collections as highlighted in the next box.
Finding Articles in Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Languages Association of America, is the fundamental research tool for the humanities. The database is an index of international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. The citations are from over 4,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings. - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. - EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is an online reference system that offers a variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has created a full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers, current issues (usually the last 3 – 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. The Toronto Metropolitan University Library has access to the entire content of JSTOR’s archival journal collections. - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher’s Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
2 to 4 simultaneous users - SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 381 electronic journals published by Sage Publications. - Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholars Portal Journals is a digital repository of over 22 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.
