Librarian
Start your research here
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Canadian agriculture, business, culture, current events, government, history, literature, languages, agriculture, politics and governance - Conference Board of Canada e-Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economic trends, economic data, public policy (education, energy, health, immigration, trade, taxation), organizational performance (governance, risk management, corporate social responsibility) - Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International literature in political science and public administration & policy - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public affairs, policy & politics, international affairs and statistics - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. - Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political and social change, providing a comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Its scope is international and interdisciplinary providing in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Maximum 1 simultaneous user. - C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
C19 Index is a bibliographic database for 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users can query collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection specific search screens. - Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new windowThe CGP is the finding tool for U.S. federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. All of the manuscript material has been indexed by person, place and subject. An interactive map encourages searches by city and region. - Curio This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curio.ca includes news reports, documentaries, and archival material, as well as programs like The Nature of Things with David Suzuki, Doc Zone with Ann-Marie MacDonald, and Enquête with Alain Gravel. The portal has seven main subject categories – Arts, Business, Education, History and Geography, Health, Science, and Social Sciences.
Curio - News in Review is now available through Toronto Metropolitan's Curio subscription. Access Curio - News in Review. - E-Laws (Ontario Statutes and Regulations) This link opens in a new windowe-Laws lets you search and browse official electronic copies of Ontario’s statutes and regulations. New laws are usually published on the site within 2 business days.
- Canadiana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Canadiana is a bilingual digital library of primary (source) documents of early Canadian printed publications including books, annuals and periodicals. Over 1,300 sources (including 350 titles from outside the U.S.) are indexed and abstracted. Of these, 600 are available in full text.
Formerly known as Early Canadiana Online. - Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database brings together journals printed between 1693 and 1799 illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. They offer effective coverage of the important issues of the period, and are invaluable to the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including crime, sport, advertising, the theatre; fashion; politics, revolution; agriculture; social issues and society life. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. - LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms. - Library of Parliament (Canada) This link opens in a new windowPublishing and Depository Services (PDS) is part of the Integrated Services Branch of Public Works and Government Services Canada. PDS is one of the directorates forming the Government Information Services (GIS) Sector. GIS Sector services promote integrated and effective government communications by providing Canadians information about:
publications produced through or by the Government of Canada
laws, regulations and notices affecting their lives, published in the Canada Gazette
Government of Canada advertising and public opinion research.
PDS acquires and catalogues an extensive variety of Government of Canada publications. Some publications are listed for reference purposes only while others are available in portable downloadable electronic format.
Our mission is to ensure that Canadians have a centralized access point to locate and/or download publications authored by the Government of Canada. - NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOMOS is the annual yearbook of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy. The ASPLP was begun in 1955 by Carl Friedrich to bring together a group of political scientists, philosophers and law scholars interested in exploring legal and political philosophy outside of their home disciplines. The main activity of the society is its annual meeting held on a topic chosen in advance by the ASPLP membership, at which three papers—one from each of the participating disciplines—are presented. The society publishes these papers, along with formal commentary and invited additional essays, in the NOMOS volumes. The ASPLP leadership has included some of the most distinguished and accomplished scholars in political and legal philosophy including John Rawls, Lon Fuller and Judith Shklar.
*Volumes 7-16 are available as indexing only, pending licensing - U.S. Government Documents (FDSYS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- Annual review of political science Covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behaviour, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.
- Canadian journal of political science Original research articles, notes, commentaries, review articles, and book reviews: the history of political thought; contemporary political theory; international relations and foreign policy; governmental institutions and processes; political behaviour; public administration and public policy; and women and politics. Bilingual.
- Canadian public administration The refereed scholarly publication of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada (IPAC). It covers executive, legislative, judicial and quasi-judicial functions at all three levels of Canadian government.
- Canadian public policy Canada's foremost journal examining economic and social policy. Features interdisciplinary articles in English or French with abstracts in both languages.
- Policy options From the Institute for Research on Public Policy, topics include: legislation, regulation, urban planning, taxation, diplomacy and workplace policy, global affairs, social policy, Indigenous, science & technology.
- Studies in political economy An interdisciplinary journal of original work in the various traditions of socialist political economy, examining how political, economic and cultural processes and struggles interact to shape the conditions of people's lives. How to overcome exploitation, exclusion and oppression in Canada and abroad.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
- The Lobby MonitorThe Lobby Monitor provides daily news and analysis about the strategies and people behind public policy advocacy, issues management, government relation campaigns and procurement in Canada.
- The Hill TimesThe Hill Times is a Canadian twice-weekly newspaper and daily news website, published in Ottawa, which covers the Parliament of Canada, the federal government, and other federal political news.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Montreal Gazette This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Montreal Gazette is Montreal’s only surviving English language newspaper, as well as the oldest daily still in print in all of Canada. Originally founded as The Gazette, the paper offers much insight into Canadian history in the late 19th Century as well as important coverage of international, national, provincial, and local events. Coverage includes past events of current historical landmarks such as the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal, and the Old Port of Montreal. The paper gives insight into the commercial, social, and cultural life of the future city of Montreal.
Coverage: 1785 - 2010 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1894 - 2021 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Calgary Herald This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Calgary Herald is the largest and oldest daily newspaper in Alberta. Its first publication was as a mining and ranch weekly in 1883 at the height of Western Expansion and the Nation Building period. The coverage gives insight into Canadian history in the early 20th century and important reporting of international, national, provincial, and local events. Other notable coverage includes the first Calgary Stampede in 1912 and the development of the petroleum industry in Alberta and throughout Canada.
Coverage: 1883 - 2010 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1844 - 2020 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1851 - 2020 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, The This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1877-2007 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Times of India, The This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1838 - 2011
- The Canadian Centre for Policy AlternativesReports and studies, backgrounders, policy briefs, full-length research reports on topics such as Alternative Federal Budget, Climate justice, Economic security, Education policy, Economic policy, Labour, Resource economics, Seniors.
- Maytree (formerly Caledon Institute)Housing, poverty, human rights, strong cities
- openparliament.caFind your MP, see what your representatives are supporting; includes House transcripts and list of topics discussed.
- Samara Centre for DemocracyDemocracy, political leadership, citizenship, parliamentary politics.
- Canadian Policy Research NetworksThis link does an Omni search for their reports. The CPRN was a non-partisan think tank which operated from 1994 - 2009, providing socio-economic policy research and engagement to Canadian leaders. CPRN was best known for offering innovative and creative solutions to public policy issues resulting from timely research, thoughtful analysis and meaningful dialogue – with the goal of helping to make public policy work for Canada.
- Canadian Public Opinion Polls CollectionSurvey results indicating public opinion about social, economic, and political issues; includes 1945, 1949, 1951, 1953-2017.
- Evidence for DemocracyEvidence for Democracy (E4D) is the leading fact-driven, non-partisan, not-for-profit organization promoting the transparent use of evidence in government decision-making in Canada. Through research, education and issue campaigns, E4D engage and empower the science community while cultivating public and political demand for evidence-based decision-making.
- CurioStreamed content from CBC on Civics, Equity and social justice, Geography, Health, History, Indigenous issues, Law, Politics, Science and technology, Music, etc.
- KanopyPolitics & current affairs, ethnicity, popular culture, LGBTQ, the Arts, women, historical perspectives.
- National Film BoardIncludes interactive works, social-issue documentaries, auteur animation and alternative dramas that provide the world with a Canadian perspective. The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians: stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.