The Art Story Foundation’s vision is a world where the ideas behind wondrous works of art are accessible to anyone who wants to explore them, rather than just art professionals and academics. We streamline and organize information about artists, movements, and ideas, and present it using sophisticated, user friendly graphical tools. The resources of The Art Story Foundation are available on every computer and mobile device to anyone, completely free of charge.
The work of The Art Story now encompasses the history of visual art: from the classical though the contemporary. We make it easy for people new to the field to quickly grasp the main concepts, and then drill down to detailed information on areas that interest them.Ultimately, our goal is to have the very best overview of single artists and movements, while combining each one into the larger overall picture of the arts and humanities.
Launched in 2009 by Dr Michael Pritchard, the site has over 2500 members ranging from museum and gallery curators, photographic academics, students, collectors, dealers and representatives from the photographic press from around the world. The blog provides a forum for news of events and happenings within the British photographic history community. This can include lectures or meetings, exhibition news, jobs and general news affecting collections of photographic material or individuals within the field. BPH will also include relevant book and website reviews from time to time. While the focus is on Britain it may, on occasion, include material that is of wider interest from Europe, the United States and Asia.
Digital Photography Review's mission is to provide the most authoritative reviews of, the fastest, fullest news reports about, and the most comprehensive database of consumer digital cameras in the world, and to provide an open, active forum and useful tools for its community.
Digital Photography Review was founded in December 1998 and over the years has grown to include a vast digital camera database, timeline, forum, image sample galleries, a glossary and articles section, lens, printer and software reviews, user galleries, photo challenges and much more.
EuropeanaPhotography is a digitisation project playing a key role in ensuring that digital content related to ancient photography is accessible in Europeana. Search the Europeana collections database to access content.
Google Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
I Photo Central provides thousands of web pages for the photography collector, curator and historian. This site includes articles on collecting issues (such as connoisseurship and print values; insurance and risk management; appraisals; buying and selling images; developing a photography collecting library; framing/matting and preserving your collection; conservation, etc.).
Photographers’ Identities Catalog (PIC) is an experimental interface to a collection of biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images. Consisting of names, nationalities, dates, locations and more, PIC is a vast and growing resource for the historian, student, genealogist, or any lover of photography's history. The information has been culled from trusted biographical dictionaries, catalogs and databases, and from extensive original research by NYPL Photography Collection staff.
PhotoMuse is India's first public museum dedicated to the art, history and science of Photography. Through the pursuit of photography and photographic history, PHOTOMUSE documents, interprets and promotes the natural and cultural inheritance of humanity. With photography-based outreach and educational programs, the museum emphasizes education, conservancy and India’s photographic legacy.