Company Research
Please visit the Company Research guide for detailed information.
Performance Benchmarking
- Financial Performance DataProvides financial bench marking data for businesses in Canadian industries by Province. This includes profit margins, proportion of companies that are profitable and a breakdown of expenses.
- Key Small Business StatisticsStatistical reports on important topics related to small and medium businesses. This will include but is not limited to data on revenue, growth and financing.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access multi-year projected financial statements for public companies. Revenues are available for private companies.
Public Company Databases
- Mergent OnlineMergent Online provides extensive financials and company information for publicly traded companies. Available information includes company description, financials, competitors and company history. This database also provides access to current and historical company filings.
- FactivaProvides company descriptions with several year of financial data and ratios. In addition Factiva provides news items related to the company. To search for a company select company from the Companies/ Markets tab located at the top of the screen.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. - ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest One Business provides access to reports on many different companies. You will also find news, trade and scholarly journal articles written about different companies and industries. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista.com is one of the first statistics portals to integrate over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Toronto Metropolitan has access to Global Consumer Survey (GCS) via Statista. - GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer is a comprehensive database including cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders, job analytics. GD Explorer meets the needs of multiple disciplines and departments with cross sector coverage.
A note about GlobalData Explorer access:
Sometimes when accessing GlobalData, you may come across a Login page (see screenshot below). If this happens, just click on “IP Access” to access the database.
Private Company Information Databases
Private companies are not required to disclose financial data and business strategies in the way that public companies are required to. This can make finding data on private companies difficult. There are a few databases that may provide some information.
- Mergent Private Company Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In Mergent Online, the third tab “Mergent Private Company Search” provides access to Dun and Bradsheet Million Dollar Directory. This is also available through Advanced Search. Also known as D&B Private Company Database, this database provide access to information of 35 million D&B private companies. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides profiles and news on private companies. Select 'Business' > 'Find a Company' > enter the company name > click 'Search'.