Background Information & Reference Resources
For background information on your subject, you can consult reference books (e.g. dictionaries, directories, handbooks). Below are some examples of reference books for Health Administration.
Reference Sources
A Dictionary of Public Health (E-Book) by Call Number: RA423.L37 2007ISBN: 9780199891313Publication Date: 2007The Dictionary of Public Health is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.- A Dictionary of Epidemiology, 6th edition (E-Book) by ISBN: 9780199338931Publication Date: 2014This dictionary remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number of health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required.It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature
The Lean Healthcare Dictionary (E-Book) by Call Number: RA971.L43 2015ebISBN: 9781482232912Publication Date: 2017The Lean Healthcare Dictionary: An Illustrated Guide to Using the Language of Lean Management in Healthcare is designed to bridge the gap between Lean practitioners and healthcare professionals. This comprehensive dictionary defines essential Lean and healthcare terms to help create a common language for anyone involved in Lean healthcare improvement activities.
Encyclopedia Public Health (E-Book) by ISBN: 9780028658889Publication Date: 2003This Encyclopedia examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries. appropriate for upper class high school and university students, professionals and the general public.
Encyclopedia of Health Communication (E-Book) by Call Number: R118.E539 2014ISBN: 1483346412Publication Date: 2014This encyclopedic reference covers the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as their practical application.- Encyclopedia of Epidemiology (E-Book) by ISBN: 1412953944Publication Date: 2008The Encyclopedia of Epidemiology presents state-of-the-art information from the field of epidemiology in a less technical and accessible style and format. With more than 600 entries, no single reference provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and appropriate manner. The entries cover every major facet of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables, and much more. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference, previously known as Oxford Reference Online Premium, comprises more than 120 dictionaries and reference titles covering a comprehensive subject spectrum including: General Reference, Language, Science and Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Professional content. - Oxford Very Short Introductions Series (VSI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. Very Short Introductions are now available on this new online resource, offering scholars and students OUP’s premier publishing series in an easily discoverable, fully cross-searchable, and highly accessible format.
Maximum 3 simultaneous users
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Toronto Metropolitan has the SRM Core and SRM Subsequent Core collections. Other collections available are:
- SRM Books & Reference (Core)
- SRM Video: Practical Research & Academic Skills Video
- SRM Video: Data Science, Big Data Analytics, & Digital Methods
- SRM Video: Market Research