Learn about the Employer
Researching employers you are interested in working for is an incredibly important step in building a career and job searching. When researching employers you will likely want to:
- visit their website for public-facing information
- locate profiles written about them (via the Library’s subscription databases) in order to get a good overview
- learn about their history
- learn about their strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats in SWOT reports
- know who their competitors are and how they do in the rankings
- and be up-to-date on relevant news
Use the sources below to help with researching prospective employers.
Visit their Website
An organization's website is an excellent starting place for research if you are considering employment with them. In addition to contact details, an organization's website can also provide information on their products and services, mission statement, history, key employees and executives, career opportunities, social media outlets, Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiatives, key financials, media releases, and more.
Examples of useful sections on an organization's website include:
- About Us section
- Careers section
- Investor Relations section (public companies)
Company Profiles, Reports & SWOTS
The following databases are useful when retrieving information on companies (primarily publicly-traded, but also private companies) such as company profiles, SWOT analyses (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats), competitors, rankings, market share, products and services, CSR, number of employees, locations, and so much more.
- GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer is a comprehensive database including cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders, job analytics. GD Explorer meets the needs of multiple disciplines and departments with cross sector coverage.
A note about GlobalData Explorer access:
Sometimes when accessing GlobalData, you may come across a Login page (see screenshot below). If this happens, just click on “IP Access” to access the database. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is an industry research database that provides profiles, market share , and competitor information for major companies.
To find relevant reports: search with industry keywords, NAICS codes, or company names > refine results according to geography > once in a report see the ‘Major Companies’ tab for company profiles. - Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing insights on companies, industries, economies and consumers worldwide. The database is useful for company research since it contains some local and global company profiles and SWOT analyses. Search for a company in the top search box or select ‘Companies’ from the top menu and conduct your search. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on top brands and companies in all major industries and regions with detailed company overviews and rankings, including revenue, number of employees, company value, stock price, and major competitors. Use the top-right search box to find brands and companies.
Company Filings and Annual Reports
Publicly traded companies are required by government regulators to release annual reports and other filings. These will contain information on, but not limited to, finances, subsidiaries, strategies and performance, customers, HR and employees, supply chain, innovation, R&D, etc. You can generally find annual reports on a public company’s website, often located in the investor relations section, or use the resources below.
- SEDAR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SEDAR is the System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval, the electronic filing system for the disclosure documents of public companies and investment funds across Canada. - EDGAR This link opens in a new windowEDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) is the online system created by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for corporate filings. All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online contains information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies. It provides company overviews, histories, executive profiles, annual reports, financials, supply chain data, competitors, and more.
Mergent Online also has information on private companies. In the third tab “Mergent Private Company Search” provides access to Dun and Bradstreet Million Dollar Directory. Also known as D&B Private Company Database, this database provide access to information on 35 million D&B private companies.
Company Directories and List Generation
The following databases will allow you to generate a custom list of companies that operate within a specific sector / industry:
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Connect to LexisNexis Academic > select the ‘Business’ box (bottom – left corner). In the ‘Company Dossier’ box, select ‘Create a Company List’ > fill in the form accordingly > select ‘Create’ to generate a preview of your results > select ‘Customize’ to specify other types of information that you want displayed with your list > select ‘Update’ to generate your final list > if you wish you can download the information into an Excel or CSV file. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Connect to ‘Mergent Online’ > select the ‘Advanced Search’ option > select the ‘Industry Codes’ option and choose an industry > choose from other fields including ‘Corporate Information’, ‘Financials’, etc. > select ‘View’ to see your results.
- City of Missisauga - Business DirectoryFind company information in the City of Mississauga for over 16,000 businesses with open data catalogue of listings and maps
- Government of Canada - Directories of Canadian companiesRegistering as a Canadian supplier, searching for competitors and checking a company's incorporation status.
- Government of Canada - Federal CorporationsThis directory allows you to find federal corporations in Canada.
- Organization Directory:Ontario (INFO-GO)This directory allows you to search government organizations and employees in Ontario.
- Scott’s Business Directory (via Toronto Public Library)Detailed information on Canadian manufacturers, wholesalers and business services. Search product, type, location, etc.
- Vaughan Business DirectoriesThe business directory resources found on this page will allow you to explore the City of Vaughan’s York Region Employment Survey (YRES) and Vaughan Chamber of Commerce, etc.