The following guide was created by the Electronic Resource Management team (ERM) at TMU Libraries to help students, faculty and staff troubleshoot common errors so that they can access the resources they need. Most common errors like "Bad Request" can only be fixed on your end but there are some other errors that only the ERM Team can fix on our end.
Please see the Common Error Messages table below to see which scenario best applies or navigate through the tabs above to go directly to the scenario and solution. If none of the options below apply you can always email erm@torontomu.ca with as much information as possible and we will troubleshoot together.
| Error Message | Who and What Can Fix It | Link to Guide or Tip Sheet |
| Too Many Redirects |
There may be too many cookies running at the same time on your browser, but you can fix this by resetting the cookies |
Resetting Cookies |
| There was an error loading this book | The link to the electronic record might be broken. Please report this problem to erm@torontomu.ca | erm@torontomu.ca |
| Bad Request | This is likely a cookies/cache issue and a very common issue on Chrome. See instructions in the next column to reset cookies and to learn more about this error message. | Bad Request |
| This Page Isn't working | The link to the electronic record might be broken. Please report this problem to erm@torontomu.ca | erm@torontomu.ca |
| Google Scholar Detected Unusual Traffic |
This happens when there are a lot of queries. You can try a different browser, doing your search directly in Google Scholar or take a break and try again later. You can try resetting your cookies for Google Scholar and TMU libraries. |
|
| Full Text Article No Access |
This is not really an error message, but you may be expecting to see a full text article but you are only seeing an abstract or citation. In this case you can double check the coverage and access through our Journal Search. Look for the journal that your article is from and you may see that there are various databases that provide access to the journal with varying coverage. You may see one link provides access from 2000 to 2010, or from 1985 to Present, and so forth. If you are still only seeing citations/abstracts then likely that means we do not have full text access, but you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan Form |
|