Librarian
Research Methods and Study Design
An Introduction to Health Services Research by
This is a primary, comprehensive textbook for people who are considering undertaking a piece of health-related research. It is an accessible companion with the aim of getting the reader to think broadly about all of the issues that need to be considered when embarking on a project. This is a pragmatic book, a step-by-step guide to research which mirrors the structure of a research project, taking you through the thought process for designing and conducting your study from formulating the right research question at idea inception, ascertaining what methodologies and analysis can answer what type of questions, right through to dissemination, all presented in an easy, digestible style. The book is full of case study illustrations and practical tips such as how to work out a research budget and obtaining funding for your project, discussion of what permissions need to obtained when conducting research with people, and how to involve public and patients. The authors are all experienced researchers and so this book is an accumulation of collective wisdom on common research challenges and issues.
ISBN: 9781446247396Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Research by
This clearly written, easy-to-understand book demystifies the research process and provides a rational foundation from which to critique and understand research designs and applications in health care and human service settings. Divided into five parts - Introduction, Thinking Processes, Design Approaches, Action Processes, and Improving Practice Through Inquiry - it explores multiple research strategies, proposing that naturalistic and experimental-type research strategies have equal value and contribute in complementary and distinct ways to the science of practice. Content in this edition has been significantly expanded and updated to reflect changes in the field, specifically in areas of ethics, informed consent, practice efficacy, and proposal-writing. Key terms, chapter outlines, and exercise ideas in each chapter strengthen understanding of important concepts. Detailed discussions of qualitative and quantitative methodologies offer a unique, balanced focus and comprehensive coverage of research. Specific design strategies for experimental, naturalistic, and mixed method enable readers to compare, contrast, and integrate different designs. Understandable, down-to-earth writing style makes the information more accessible and relevant. 3 new chapters comprehensively address patient boundaries, sharing research knowledge, and practice efficacy. A new appendix provides informed consent documents for use in the practice setting. New and expanded content added to chapters reflects emerging practices and hot-button issues such as ethical considerations, practical considerations, new naturalistic inquiry designs, and more. More case examples interspersed throughout the text are identified with new magnifying-glass icons to alert readers to research dilemmas or potential problems they might encounter.
ISBN: 9780323028530Publication Date: 2005
Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research by
A prevailing paradigm in social research and community-based interventions involves examining individual problems within various contexts-from the interpersonal to the community at large. Yet the research methodologies used to support these interventions typically lack the ability to consider data from this multilevel, systemic perspective. Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research presents a range of innovative research methodologies that address this basic problem in community-based research frameworks, thereby facilitating more encompassing and more nuanced analyses and interventions. Contributors to this groundbreaking volume offer appropriate methodologies for addressing specific, community-based problems that are relevant to both researchers and practitioners involved in designing, implementing, and evaluating social, health, and education programs from a variety of perspectives, including community psychology, developmental psychology and aging, health and rehabilitation psychology, neuropsychology, industrial/organizational psychology, and consumer psychology, among them. A special feature of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research are Web Appendixes that include a variety of research applications (e.g., SPSS, SAS, Mplus, GIS) and detailed guidelines on how to run the applications for analyzing the accompanying data sets.
ISBN: 9781433811159Publication Date: 2012
Public health research methods for partnerships and practice by ISBN: 9781351651776Publication Date: 2018
Qualitative Methods in Public Health by
A real-world guide to conducting rigorous qualitative research Qualitative Methods in Public Health: A Field Guide for Applied Research provides a practical orientation to conducting effective qualitative research in the public health sphere. With thorough examination and simple explanations, this book guides you through the logic and workflow of qualitative approaches, with step-by-step guidance on every phase of the research. Students learn how to identify and make use of theoretical frameworks to guide your study, design the study to answer specific questions, and achieve their research goals. Data collection, analysis, and interpretation are given close attention as the backbone of a successful study, and expert insight on reporting and dissemination helps you get your work noticed. This second edition features new examples from global health, including case studies specifically illustrating study design, web and mobile technologies, mixed methods, and new innovations in information dissemination. Pedagogical tools have been added to help enhance your understanding of research design and implementation, and extensive appendices show you how these concepts work in practice. Qualitative research is a powerful tool for public health, but it′s very easy to get it wrong. Careful study design and data management are critical, and it′s important to resist drawing conclusions that the data cannot support. This book shows you how to conduct high-quality qualitative research that stands up to review. Design robust qualitative studies and collect the appropriate data Translate your data into words without sacrificing accuracy Merge qualitative and quantitative data to tell the whole story Master the logistics of consent, interviews, focus groups, and more Effective public health programs require insight into the different contexts that affect behavior. A thorough understanding and appropriate application of qualitative research strategies is the difference between relevant and credible conclusions and pseudoscience. Qualitative Methods in Public Health shows you how to get it right every step of the way.
ISBN: 9781118834503Publication Date: 2016
Research Methods in Health Communication by Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9780415531863Publication Date: 2014
Research Methods in Health Promotion by
The bestselling textbook to understanding health research, updated and expanded Research Methods in Health Promotion provides students and practitioners with essential knowledge and skills regarding the design, implementation, analysis, and interpretation of research in the field of health promotion. Now in its second edition, this bestselling textbook has been updated with more recent research methodologies and additional information on sampling, participatory and survey research, and qualitative data analysis. The entire research process is covered, with specific points relating to both qualitative and quantitative research. By breaking the daunting process of research into simple and well-defined steps, this user-friendly text encourages students to think about research as a sequential process and provides explanations that facilitate better understanding of each step in the research process. A separate set of chapters cover the more quantitative methodological areas including designs, measurement, sampling, and data analysis in depth, giving readers the understanding they need to apply in practice. This book also provides applied chapters that illustrate the practical aspects of the research process, along with other critical information including grant writing and scientific writing. Evaluate the ethics, design, analysis, and interpretation of research Identify and understand the key components of research studies Analyze and interpret the results of experimental and survey research designs Understand the process of publishing a research report and constructing a grant proposal Research Methods in Health Promotion is ideal for both undergrad and graduate methods courses in health promotion and public health.
ISBN: 9781118448441Publication Date: 2015
Health Data and Analysis
Essential Statistical Methods for Medical Statistics by
Essential Statistical Methods for Medical Statistics presents only key contributions which have been selected from the volume in the Handbook of Statistics: Medical Statistics, Volume 27 (2009). While the use of statistics in these fields has a long and rich history, the explosive growth of science in general, and of clinical and epidemiological sciences in particular, has led to the development of new methods and innovative adaptations of standard methods. This volume is appropriately focused for individuals working in these fields. Contributors are internationally renowned experts in their respective areas. · Contributors are internationally renowned experts in their respective areas · Addresses emerging statistical challenges in epidemiological, biomedical, and pharmaceutical research · Methods for assessing Biomarkers, analysis of competing risks · Clinical trials including sequential and group sequential, crossover designs, cluster randomized, and adaptive designs · Structural equations modelling and longitudinal data analysis
ISBN: 9780444537386Publication Date: 2010
Applied Spatial Statistics for Public Health Data by
While mapped data provide a common ground for discussions between the public, the media, regulatory agencies, and public health researchers, the analysis of spatially referenced data has experienced a phenomenal growth over the last two decades, thanks in part to the development of geographical information systems (GISs). This is the first thorough overview to integrate spatial statistics with data management and the display capabilities of GIS. It describes methods for assessing the likelihood of observed patterns and quantifying the link between exposures and outcomes in spatially correlated data. This introductory text is designed to serve as both an introduction for the novice and a reference for practitioners in the field Requires only minimal background in public health and only some knowledge of statistics through multiple regression Touches upon some advanced topics, such as random effects, hierarchical models and spatial point processes, but does not require prior exposure Includes lavish use of figures/illustrations throughout the volume as well as analyses of several data sets (in the form of "data breaks") Exercises based on data analyses reinforce concepts
ISBN: 0471387711Publication Date: 2004
Making Data Talk by
The demand for health information continues to increase, but the ability of health professionals to provide it clearly remains variable. The aim of this book is (1) to summarize and synthesize research on the selection and presentation of data pertinent to public health, and (2) to provide practical suggestions, based on this research summary and synthesis, on how scientists and other public health practitioners can better communicate data to the public, policy makers, and the press in typical real-world situations. Because communication is complex and no one approach works for all audiences, the authors emphasize how to communicate data "better" (and in some instances, contrast this with how to communicate data "worse"), rather than attempting a cookbook approach. The book contains a wealth of case studies and other examples to illustrate major points, and actual situations whenever possible. Key principles and recommendations are summarized at the end of each chapter. This book will stimulate interest among public health practitioners, scholars, and students to more seriously consider ways they can understand and improve communication about data and other types of scientific information with the public, policy makers, and the press. Improved data communication will increase the chances that evidence-based scientific findings can play a greater role in improving the public's health.
ISBN: 9780195381535Publication Date: 2009
Methods of Demographic Analysis by
This book provides an up-to-date overview of demographic analysis and methods, including recent developments in demography. Concepts and methods, from the nature of demographic information through data collection and the basics of statistical measures and on to demographic analysis itself are succinctly explained. Measures and analyses of fertility, mortality, life tables, migration and demographic events such as marriage, education and labour force are described while later chapters cover multiple decrement tables, population projections, the importance of testing and smoothing demographic data, the stable population model and demographic software. An emphasis on practical aspects and the use of real-life examples based on data from around the globe make this book accessible, whilst comprehensive references and links to data and other resources on the internet help readers to explore further. The text is concise and well written, making it ideally suited to a wider audience from students to academics and teachers. Students of demography, geography, sociology, economics, as well as professionals, academics and students of marketing, human resource management, and public health who have an interest in population issues will all find this book useful.
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9789400767836Publication Date: 2013
Evaluation Resources
- 2017 National Healthcare Quality & Disparities ReportPrepared by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR) " provides a comprehensive overview of the quality of health care received by the general U.S. population and disparities in care experienced by different racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic groups."
- Active Living Research - Tools & MeasuresFeatures the following kinds of tools to assist active living researchers:
- observational tools to assess the environment
- observational tools to assess physical activity
- surveys to assess perceptions of the environment - American Community Survey (ACS) via the American FactFinderCollected by the U.S Census Bureau. The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data every year. Survey samples the U.S population on topics such as age, sex, race, family, income, health insurance, education, disabilities, commuting, housing and more.
- Community ToolboxProduced by the U. of Kansas' Work Group for Community Health and Development, this site provides links and resources for designing and evaluating programs.
- The Community GuideCreated by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, "The Community Guide" promotes interventions with demonstrated effectiveness.
- Healthy People 2020 Evidence-Based ResourcesDatabase of evidence-based literature regarding Healthy People 2020 objectives and interventions.
- Kaiser Family FoundationNon-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.