Connecting to Databases and Electronic Resources
Most of TMU Library’s collection is electronic and can be accessed remotely. When connecting to databases and electronic resources (such as journals and articles, e-books, streaming video, etc.) you will be prompted to enter in your TMU credentials (this is the same username/password you use for your TMU email and D2L).
Databases
TMU Library subscribes to an extensive collection of business databases that cover a range of specialties. Databases should always be accessed through the Library website to ensure that you are accessing the Library’s full subscription.
It can be a little overwhelming to locate relevant databases for your research. One of the best ways to locate helpful databases is through the Library’s research guides. Research guides are a compilation of recommended resources for particular subject areas, courses, and topics and hence include relevant databases.
Alternatively, you can view our complete list of Business Databases. Review database descriptions in order to determine if the database is right for your topic and for navigation instructions.
Also, you may want to explore the Library’s complete collection of databases and electronic resources that cover all subjects; particularly, if you are conducting research on an interdisciplinary topic.
Top Databases
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more. - Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform that combines deep information on companies, markets and people worldwide. Over 62,000 public companies and 4.4 million private companies are profiled. Further, users can analyze company performance of industry-leading financials with over 5,000 individual data items, including industry-specific metrics on 17 industries. Tap into deep fundamental data covering equities, fixed income, capital structure, credit ratings, transactions, private equity firm profiles, ownership, business relationships and more.
How to Create an Account: - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence for over 450 Canadian industries and over 700 US industries, including NAICS, specialized, and expert industry reports. Reports include detailed performance data and analysis, supply chain information, forecasts, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, major player market strategies, and industry profit and cost benchmarks. Global and China industry reports are also available. - Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GMID, from Euromonitor International, contains demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries. The historical and forecast data enable users to analyze trends from 1977 to 2020. Unique country rankings help users gauge one country’s position in the world relative to another. GMID contains a range of lifestyle indicators such as disposable income availability, consumer expenditure trends, eating and drinking habits, home ownership statistics, and health data. The database contains market research reports on industries, consumer lifestyles, and retailing. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista.com is one of the first statistics portals to integrate over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Toronto Metropolitan has access to Global Consumer Survey (GCS) via Statista.
