Tort Law

Causes of Action, Defences and Remedies on Westlaw Canada is a collection of articles, or ‘toolkits’, each focused on a specific cause of action. Each toolkit provides an overview of the cause of action and includes leading cases, relevant legislation, checklists, related defences, and secondary source references.

Proof of Facts on Westlaw Canada is a collection of articles to inform lawyers of the essential elements of proof for a given legal scenario. Each article details what needs to be proved and includes aids that assist with trial preparation.

Westlaw's Personal Injury Quantum Service features digests quantifying personal injury awards from relevant Canadian court decisions, with coverage spanning from 1991 to the present day. In order to provide a comprehensive collection of relevant personal injury quantum digests, this service includes all cases selected for Goldsmith’s Damages for Personal Injury and Death and for Carswell’s Personal Injury Damages Partner.

This source on Lexis Advance Quicklaw contains digests published in the Carlson Personal Injury Quantum of Damages NetLetter, which is a weekly review of non-pecuniary damages awarded in personal injury cases by courts in the common law provinces and by the Supreme Court of Canada.

Westlaw's Defamation Quantum Service features digests quantifying defamation awards from relevant trial and appeal decisions of all Canadian courts, spanning from the 1800s to the present day,

Canada Defamation Quantums on Lexis Advance Quicklaw is a comprehensive source of summaries regarding defamation awards from 1880 to the present, with selected cases from 1875.

Canada Medical Negligence Quantums on Lexis Advance Quicklaw is a comprehensive source of summaries regarding medical negligence awards from 1997 to the present, with selected cases from 1996.

Canada Property-Related Torts Quantums on Lexis Advance Quicklaw is a comprehensive source of summaries regarding property-related torts awards from 1997 to the present, with selected cases from 1996.