Immigration and Refugee Law

A maximum of three users can view this book at the same time

This annual volume provides an overview of recent changes to Canadian immigration and refugee law along with case digests of recent key decisions.

A maximum of three users can view this book at the same time

This looseleaf work is designed to help practitioners understand immigration and refugee law legislation, explains how the Charter applies to immigration law, helps practitioners keep abreast of the evolution of this legislation and its future applications, and more.

Written in plain language, this guide gives a complete overview of the grounds of inadmissibility and the process used to determine inadmissibility to Canada.

Offers expert insight and practical advice on every step of the judicial review process – from filing the initial motion for leave to appealing a decision of the Federal Court of Appeal. In addition, this text provides detailed interpretation of the applicable Federal Courts Citizenship, Immigration and Refugee Protection Rules, as well as in-depth analysis of the relevant jurisprudence.

The book looks at various categories of non-citizens – from permanent residents to temporary foreign workers – and explains their respective rights and legal status.

Provides focused guidance on the rapidly expanding area of inadmissibility law. Speaks in practical terms to the key statutory framework, emerging trends, relevant leading case law and offers practical tips, key memoranda, and sample submissions.

Increasingly, immigrants who arrive in Canada do so after being nominated by a province. This text provides an overview of provincial nominee programs and includes specific and practical information and tips about accessing the provincial programs.

Provides a solid understanding of extradition law in Canada with reference to every significant extradition case considered by courts of appeal or the Supreme Court of Canada since the current Extradition Act became law. Helpful information includes a fully annotated Extradition Act, all extant bilateral extradition treaties in their entirety, and an overview of the law and procedure of extradition with clear, easy-to-follow cross-references. Includes the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Act, and relevant sections of the Criminal Code, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and multilateral international treaties.