Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FNP 100: Introduction to Professional Practice

Step 3: Search the Literature

SEARCH EVERYTHING searches through the majority of the Library's databases, e-book/book collection, newspapers and more. You can view a video demonstrating the various features of Search Everything embedded in the screen capture below - note there is audio and closed captioning. 

1. Type in your keywords and click the Go button. Your keywords should reflect the main concepts of what you are looking for, and what terms you would like to see reflected in your results.  There is an implicit AND between concepts; Search Everything assumes you want results with all concepts included. 

It also searches for related terms, e.g. synonyms. "Phrase searching" will look for results with the exact phrase included. Truncation, using the *, looks for root variants, e.g. canad* will find canada, canadian, canadien

For example: food security canad* food banks

 

Searching a Database

  • Login with your my.ryerson account

  • To identify databases relevant to Nutrition, look at the recommendations on the research guide for the program

  • Use the Advanced Search options to create more detailed searches and expand relevant results

  • Play with synonyms (like terms) to expand your results, using Boolean logic (AND, OR, NOT) in databases

  • Use truncation, *, to search for root variant of words where applicable, e.g. canad* will find canada, canadian

  • Separate your concepts into individual rows to include synonymous terms, e.g. stress OR anxiety 

  • Modify your search where necessary, making use of field-specific searching, e.g. searching for your terms more narrowly in specific parts of the article, e.g. abstract

  • Take advantage of additional features in databases, which can help identify highly-cited research, specific types of research design, and other subsets of the literature

  • If the full-text of the article is not in the database, use the Check TMU Library links to find full-text, where available

  • Example of an advanced search in Nutrition and Food Sciences - video embedded below: