When searching collections on archival databases, you can usually enter keywords related to the topic, subject, place, or person that you are looking for, much like you would do in the library database (more more information on keyword searching, see our Research Help Guide).
Sometimes, you may find terminology in the historical documents you look at, and in their descriptions, that are outdated, inaccurate, or even offensive, particularly when you are researching topics related to equity and diversity. This can be upsetting, and it's good to be aware of how this may affect you, take breaks when you need to, and ask for support if you need it.
While many archival institutions have searchable databases online for their collections, which allow researchers to look for material in their collections by keyword, names, or locations, the material itself, be it photographs, documents, letters, or audio-visual material, is often not digitized and accessible online. While some representative material, exhibitions, thematic collections, or frequently requested material may be available freely online, most archives, particularly small and community archives, do not have the resources to provide digital access to all of their collections. In addition, there may be copyright or other licensing restrictions that prevent them from doing so. Often, the only way to see the full contents of archival files and collections is to make an appointment for in-person research.
For this course, we have put together a list of links from a variety of sources that have selected artifacts digitized and available to be viewed online. See the Artifact Sources page for links.
"The power to exclude is a fundamental aspect of the archive. Inevitably, there are distortions, omissions, erasures, and silences in the archive. Not every story is told."
- Rodney G.S. Carter. (2006). Of things said and unsaid: Power, archival silences, and power in silence. Archivaria, 61, 215-233.
Archival silences refer to the erasure of archives, and histories of marginalized communities within traditional archival holdings. Institutional archives often collect histories of those in power and we must acknowledge that these institutions are not neutral and their holdings reflect the narratives of predominantly white creators. Assuming that collecting institutions are neutral does not benefit the groups who have been systematically left out of archival collections.
We are working on countering the bias in our collection in order to accurately represent the communities we serve. We are actively seeking material that prioritizes diverse sources and partnering with creators and researchers from underrepresented communities to address the archival gaps within our holdings.
In this TedX talk, Dominique Luster discusses silences in the archives and her work with the Charles "Teenie" Harris archive at the Carnegie Museum of Art to build a historical view that includes marginalized voices and conscious language.
For more information on strategies to confront biases in collections watch the following virtual panel discussion by the University of Arkansas Libraries: