TMU Library Search Everything
TMU Library Search Everything
This search engine searches for journal articles (chiefly those that are available electronically and subscribed to by TMU), books, e-books, theses and dissertations, and newspaper articles from some recent and a selection of archival newspapers. It indexes digitized content such as out-of-copyright books and journals that are available from sources such as The Internet Archive and The Hathi Trust.
Refine your search using the filters on the left.
For more advanced searching across a more targeted set of resources, you may want to try a discipline specific indexing/abstracting database or collections as listed in the following boxes.
Note on Terminology: The Library recognizes that the words "Indian" and "Indians" are hold-overs from our colonial heritage. Libraries including this one are replacing subject headings of the type "Indians of North America" with headings such as "Indigenous peoples North America." Some libraries are adopting terms such as First Nations for peoples who are indigenous to Turtle Island (North America) other than the Inuit and Métis. Historic books, documents and indexing tools continue to use the terms that were used at the time of creation. Therefore when looking for resources, you may have to use terms that may be outdated, inaccurate or offensive.
Key Indexing Resources
-
America : History & LifeAmerica History and Life contains citations, with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Maximum of 6 simultaneous users. -
CBCA CompleteThis database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
-
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals IndexCPI.Q is Gale’s award-winning full-text resource specifically designed to provide instant access to the most requested Canadian reference materials. Covering a wide range of disciplines, CPI.Q is the perfect one-stop resource for researchers in need of information from Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapers and reference sources.
-
C19: Nineteenth Century IndexC19 Index is a bibliographic database for 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users can query collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection specific search screens.
-
This collection provides access to renowned databases such as PAIS and WPSA, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous Peoples in North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. This resource contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Formerly known as Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA).
Digital Collections (Access Restricted to University Community)
- Canadiana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Canadiana is a bilingual digital library of primary (source) documents of early Canadian printed publications including books, annuals and periodicals. Over 1,300 sources (including 350 titles from outside the U.S.) are indexed and abstracted. Of these, 600 are available in full text.
Formerly known as Early Canadiana Online. - Canadiana Heritage Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 60 million pages of primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists. - Champlain Society Digital Collection (Archive) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Champlain Society Archives is a collection of volumes from the Champlain Society that deal with exploration and discovery over three centuries. It includes first-hand accounts of Samuel de Champlain's voyages in New France, the diary from Sir John Franklin's first land expedition to the Arctic, plus many other fascinating stories.
Archives includes all available titles for the Champlain Society:
- Occasional Papers of the Champlain Society
- The Publications of the Champlain Society, Hudson's Bay Company Series
- The Publications of the Champlain Society, Ontario Series
- The Publications of the Champlain Society
- The Works of Samuel de Champlain
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology. - Maclean's Magazine Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maclean’s Magazine Digital Archive, offering content from 1905-2015, a Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as then The Busy Man’s Magazine from 1896-1911, with a couple of 1905 issues published as The Business Magazine, and then changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911. - North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. - North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. - Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,500 collections of Oral History in English from around the world.
The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 271,000 pages of full-text by some 9,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 3,000 audio and video files and over 17,000 bibliographic records. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history – The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution – this resource features: Full-text search capabilities; Canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles; Works by both well-known and lesser-known authors. Toronto Metropolitan has both original ECCO and ECCO 2. - Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database brings together journals printed between 1693 and 1799 illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. They offer effective coverage of the important issues of the period, and are invaluable to the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including crime, sport, advertising, the theatre; fashion; politics, revolution; agriculture; social issues and society life. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has created a full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers, current issues (usually the last 3 – 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. The Toronto Metropolitan University Library has access to the entire content of JSTOR’s archival journal collections. - Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012.
Archival Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Calgary Herald, 1883-2010 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Calgary Herald is the largest and oldest daily newspaper in Alberta. Its first publication was as a mining and ranch weekly in 1883 at the height of Western Expansion and the Nation Building period. The coverage gives insight into Canadian history in the early 20th century and important reporting of international, national, provincial, and local events. Other notable coverage includes the first Calgary Stampede in 1912 and the development of the petroleum industry in Alberta and throughout Canada.
Coverage: 1883 - 2010 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1844 - 2020 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Montreal Gazette, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Montreal Gazette is Montreal’s only surviving English language newspaper, as well as the oldest daily still in print in all of Canada. Originally founded as The Gazette, the paper offers much insight into Canadian history in the late 19th Century as well as important coverage of international, national, provincial, and local events. Coverage includes past events of current historical landmarks such as the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal, and the Old Port of Montreal. The paper gives insight into the commercial, social, and cultural life of the future city of Montreal.
Coverage: 1785 - 2010 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1894 - 2021 - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1851 - 2020 - Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is available, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to aid searching. - British Library Newspapers, Part I & II: 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, this resource delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the nineteenth. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history.
There are numerous initiatives to digitize the text of local newspapers as well as the photographs and negatives of newspapers and news agencies. Additionally, the amount of indexing of historic newspapers continues to increase.Some relevant initiatives follow:
General
- Canadian News Online links to online resources maintained by Library and Archives Canada
- Canada Gazette (1941-1997) via Library and Archives Canada
- Canada Gazette (1998- )
- CanGenealogy Historical Newspapers
- Multicultural Canada - this project contains some digitized newspapers
Western Canada
- Alberta Legislature Library Scrapbook Hansard
- British Colonist (Victoria, B.C.) 1858-1920 from the University of Victoria Libraries
- British Columbia Historical Newspapers from the University of British Columbia, UBC Library
- Manitobia: Digital Resources on Manitoba History - includes a section on newspapers
- Our Future Our Past: The Alberta Heritage Digitization Project - includes a newspaper section
- Peel's Praririe Provinces: Newspapers section
- Saskatchewan Historic Newspapers Online from the Saskatchewan Archives Board
- Saskatchewan News Index from the University of Saskatchewan Library
- Southern Alberta Newspaper Collection from the University of Lethbridge Library
- Victoria Newspapers 1858-1921 - an index of historical Victoria newspapers
Ontario
- INK OWD (Our Digital World) Newspaper Collection
- Ontario Community Newspapers
- The Globe and Mail photographic archive fonds (1922-1953) at the City of Toronto Archives. Almost 32,000 of the 140,000 negatives have been digitized.
- Toronto Telegram (1876-1971) The photographic archive of "The Tely" is being digitized by York University's Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections. Inventory of the Toronto Telegram Fonds
Quebec
Atlantic Canada
- Island Newspapers from the University of Prince Edward Island, Robertson Library
- New Brunswick Irish Portal: Newspapers from the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick
- Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers from the Nova Scotia Archives
- Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers from the Beaton Institute, Cape Breton University
- Memorial University Libraries, Centre for Newfoundland Studies Newspapers guide - includes links to digitized papers
The Google News Archive was live from 2006-2011. The addition of new content and access to the home page was discontinued in August 2011 according to an entry in Wikipedia. You can still browse the content of the Google News Archive but the search function is far from ideal.
See also Carol Singer's extensive guide from Bowling Green State University Library: Historical Canadian Newspapers Online
Current and Recent Newspapers
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to the full text of several Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Search for individual newspapers and journals by title from our A-Z list of journal titles