Indigenous Law & Aboriginal Law

Supporting indigenous people with tools such as traditional use studies, GIS, mapping and other info systems.This site is facilitated and maintained by Ecotrust Canada.

The Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements with Indigenous Peoples in Settler States: The aim of this project is to examine treaty and agreement-making decisions with Indigenous Peoples from a variety of jurisdictions (including Canada, Australia and New Zealand).

A documentation and information center created in 1978 at the request of the Indigenous delegations participating in the first international conference of non-governmental organizations on Indigenous issues held at the United Nations (Geneva, 1977).

A database that provides access to international human rights resources, including treaties, resolutions, Government of Canada documents and related jurisprudence.

The Native Law Centre library is a depository for Aboriginal law materials and is the only facility of its kind in Canada. Our collection has served as a valuable resource to students, law practitioners, academics and others interested in the area since 1985.

The National Aboriginal Document Database offers access to research materials dealing with land claims, treaties, government documents and court decisions.

Material relating to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections.
University of Saskatchewan.

Includes: First Nations Digital Document Source (FNDDS), which has electronic documents supporting First Nations land rights research; Federal and Provincial Collections of Minutes of Decision, Correspondence, and Sketches (materials produced by the Joint Indian Reserve Commission and the Indian Reserve Commission, 1876-1910); and Our Homes Are Bleeding (multimedia collection focused on the cut-off lands in BC including the records of the McKenna McBride Royal Commission, 1913-1916).

The Indigenous Law Journal is dedicated to developing dialogue and scholarship in the field of Indigenous legal issues both in Canada and internationally. Its central concerns are Indigenous legal systems and legal systems as they affect Indigenous peoples.

The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide.

Provides a forum for the discussion of indigenous, tribal and aboriginal law and legal systems from all over the globe. Back issues are available on the journal homepage.

We publish with the goal of bettering and advancing Native Nations and Indian People. Our Journal is here to actively resist against the insidious effects of colonialism, racism, and the subjugation of Native Peoples. We promote Native scholarship, both student and faculty, and support Native scholars and voices.

Originating in British Columbia, the Constitution Express was an Indigenous movement launched in 1980 in response to the Canadian government's plans to 'patriate' the Constitution from the UK. It was a local, national, and international movement with far-reaching impacts on decolonial thought and action and among colonized people around the world. This special issue reflects the simultaneously local and transnational facets of the movement, and contributes a nuanced perspective on provincial politics and the scholarship of Indigenous rights.

Covers native peoples in Canada and elsewhere. For back issues see the journal homepage.