Materials Databases
-
Building Green This link opens in a new windowBuildingGreen.com includes articles, news, reviews, product listings, and case studies and is organized into a hierarchy of topics related to green design and construction. These topics include Policy and Context, Process, Land Use and Community, Site and Water, Energy, Resources and Materials, Indoor Environmental Quality.
The database includes Environmental Building News, a monthly newsletter published since 1992 featuring comprehensive, practical information on a range of topics related to sustainable design in the built environment. -
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowMaterial ConneXion offers a knowledge base with an eclectic collection of innovative materials and processes. The database is updated regularly and frequently with materials juried by a panel of material specialists. It is a resource for all disciplines of design development, including: Architecture, Interior Design, Packaging Design, Retail Design, Industrial Design, Fashion, Apparel & Footwear, Exhibition Design, Textile Design, Landscape Architecture, and Transportation Design and includes the largest selection of sustainable materials and the only Cradle to Cradle materials library in the world: Polymers, Ceramics, Glass, Metals, Cement-based materials, Natural Materials, Carbon-based materials, and Processes.
To access Material ConneXions Insights, please use this link: Material Insights
Healthy Materials Lab
An information-rich guide containing a directory of healthier building products, and tools & guides for the design student/professional. The Lab also provides courses and works on projects to promote healthier materials.
MaterialDistrict
MaterialDistrict is the world’s leading match-making platform in the field of innovative materials. MaterialDistrict’s value as a high-end materials inspiration source is clear: R&D and design professionals of all industries are using our platform to discover new material solutions. Daily via MaterialDistrict.com, annually at MaterialDistrict Rotterdam and periodically throughout the year with traveling MaterialDistrict Expo, MaterialDistrict Talks, and MaterialDistrict Pop-Up events.
Material Order
Material Order is a shared online materials catalog that allows users to search the material collections of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD), Parsons School of Design, Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) and the University of Michigan.
WGSN Blog
Included are snippets of the best content from WGSN, hand-selected from across the platform including some interiors content.