Research Guides: Psychology: Databases

Databases

Use OMNI on the Library's home page to search the electronic and print collections of TMU, and the print collections of the other 18 Ontario university libraries. You will have the option to “scope” your search to just TMU resources or all Omni libraries. For a more focused or nuanced search, use one of the more specialized databases listed below.

PsycINFO (APA PsycNET) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1806 - current
Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Medline database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts for articles from over 4,300 current biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.
For information on Scopus APIs, go Elsevier website
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Selected journals are also indexed in the areas of consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (also known as EBM Reviews) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Complete reviews: Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups. Protocols: Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
COCH is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration – an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care. In pursuing its aims, the Cochrane Collaboration is guided by six principles: collaboration, building on people’s existing enthusiasm and interests, minimizing duplication of effort, avoidance of bias, keeping up to date, and ensuring access.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Access to Toronto Metropolitan resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Preferences as follows:
- Go to scholar.google.ca and click on the Settings icon ☰
- Choose Library Links from the left-hand menu
- Enter Toronto Metropolitan in the search box
- Click in the box beside Toronto Metropolitan University - Check TMU Libraries
- Scroll down and click on the Save button
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycCRITIQUES, a database of the American Psychological Association, ended publication in Fall 2017. The critiques are made available here in partnership with the APA. PsycCRITIQUES contains 43,056 full-text reviews of books in psychology and the social sciences, as well as professional videos and popular films from a psychological perspective. Reviews occasionally include comparative or retrospective book reviews. The database also includes all reviews published in the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books between 1956 (Volume 1, Issue 1) and 2004.