English Literature

American Film Scripts Online contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays.

This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

The BBC Drama Films & Documentaries collection features stunning film adaptations of classic and contemporary plays from Sophocles and Shakespeare, to Oscar Wilde, Henrik Ibsen, August Strindberg, Bernard Shaw and contemporary writers, Michael Frayn and Joe Penhall. From stage to screen, star-studded casts and award-winning productions translate the words on the page to engaging films perfect for the classroom.

Other Drama Online collections.

Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 200+ playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

This collection offers live performances of four classic plays by Oscar Wilde with star-studded casts from London's West End:
 - Lady Windermere's Fan
 - An Ideal Husband
 - The Importance of Being Earnest
 - A Woman of No Importance

Other Drama Online collections.

This collection features academic books from the prestigious Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints. Together they offer invaluable critical, contextual and pedagogic content from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. The collection also includes actor training videos through PATAZ: Physical Actor Training - an online A-Z.

Other Drama Online collections.

Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for the performing arts. DT+ collaborates with world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars to:
  • Capture and curate live performance in stunning quality
  • Bring an unprecedented range of insights from behind the scenes
  • Commission bespoke educational resources to support study at every level

DT+ is constantly evolving and growing, with more filmed productions and interviews as well as superb written content being added every month.

Note: Digital+ requires the newest version of Chrome to work. Please update (URL: https://www.google.ca/intl/en_ca/chrome/update/) your browser if it is not working.

The Core Collection forms the heart of Drama Online. This collection is truly the foundation of the platform and offers a diverse and rich catalogue of plays by the world's leading dramatists.

The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD.

Drawing on 10 years of NT live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection is now complete and contains 30 filmed performances.

Other Drama Online collections.

North American Indian Drama contains 256 plays by 49 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.

North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Oberon Books has long been recognised as one of the most exciting publishers specialising in drama and the performing arts, with a reputation for publishing challenging and compelling works. From ground-breaking British plays to the best of international drama and plays in translation, this is a unique and inspiring collection that features a diverse gathering of canonical and contemporary drama.

Other Drama Online collections.

The Playwrights Canada collection offers plays from notable and award-winning authors. Works by First Nations playwrights, diverse playwrights, plays with large casts, monologues, classic and contemporary Canadian plays, including French plays by Canadian authors in English translation.

Other Drama Online collections.

The RSC Live Collection offers viewer worldwide their own seat in the renowned Royal Shakespeare Company theatre. It was launched on Drama Online with films of live productions performed between 2013 and 2017. The collection will continue to add new RSC productions as they are filmed, as the RSC works through Shakespeare's canon.

Other Drama Online collections.

A six-hour masterclass with acclaimed master acting teaching Patsy Rodenburg, the film explores her unique approach to voice and acting and her highly sought-after techniques and exercises in Movement, Speech, Body, and Vocal Warm-up.

Other Drama Online collections.

Inspired and informed by the unique historic playing conditions of two beautiful iconic theatres, Shakespeare’s Globe’s diverse programme of work harnesses the power of performance, cultivates intellectual curiosity, and excites learning to make Shakespeare accessible for all. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them. Each performance transports viewers directly into the standing yard of the world famous Globe or the magical candlelit interior of the captivating new Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.

Other Drama Online collections.

In a compelling film, theatre-practitioner Steven Berkoff brings a host of Shakespeare’s most famous characters vividly to life, ideal for students of Shakespeare and performance.

Other Drama Online collections.

Capture the atmosphere and tension of live theatre with four high-quality recordings of classic plays from Stage on Screen. Filmed in front of a live audience at London’s historic Greenwich Theatre, the plays are directed, designed, and performed by talented and experienced theatre professionals. Highly regarded by teachers and students, Stage on Screen accompany their productions with cast and crew interviews, images, costume, and set designs.

Other Drama Online collections.

Located in Stratford, Ontario, Canada, the Stratford Festival is the largest classical repertory theatre company in North America. Each season, they present a dozen or more productions in different venues.

Other collections available from Drama Online.

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world‘s leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 830+ plays by 124 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 100 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.