Librarian
Video and Film Resources
Your research may include the use of video and film resources, including documentary, newsreel, and live theatrical performance. All of these resources may be used for your research purposes (well cited, of course) and TMU Libraries have a large collection of materials to help you on your way. Check out the following resources to find useful and compelling content for your project. In addition, physical Audio Visual materials are located on the 5th floor of the TMU Library, and are listed in the Omni Search. Use Omni, Advanced Search, search within Media to limit your search to AV materials including those that are available as Streaming Media.
Screenshot from Le Voyage dans la lune (A Trip to the Moon) (1902). Wikimedia Commons.
-
Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new windowCriterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Our title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos. Toronto Metropolitan has access to Master Academic Collection and World Cinema Collection. Master Academic Collection is a video collection of 39K titles, with many well-known producers, such as A&E, PBS,National Geographic, TED, and HBO Documentary Films. World Cinema has 1000+ foreign language films.
-
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world‘s leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
-
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming service that provides the platform to a host of educational video productions covering a wide range of subjects, from arts, humanities, health, business, education and more. The collection has over 800 video titles from various producers.
The majority of the videos are closed captioned and clip-making is allowed. -
Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new windowAudio Cine Film is a digital streaming platform with access to thousands of movie and documentary titles from film studios and producers such as Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures and MGM Studios.
-
Drama Online Core Collection This link opens in a new window
The Core Collection forms the heart of Drama Online. This collection is truly the foundation of the platform and offers a diverse and rich catalogue of plays by the world's leading dramatists.
-
Curio This link opens in a new windowCurio.ca includes news reports, documentaries, and archival material, as well as programs like The Nature of Things with David Suzuki, Doc Zone with Ann-Marie MacDonald, and Enquête with Alain Gravel. The portal has seven main subject categories – Arts, Business, Education, History and Geography, Health, Science, and Social Sciences.
Curio - News in Review is now available through Toronto Metropolitan's Curio subscription. Access Curio - News in Review. -
NFB This link opens in a new windowCanada’s public producer and distributor, the National Film Board of Canada creates interactive works, social-issue documentaries, auteur animation and alternative dramas that provide the world with a unique Canadian perspective. The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction.
-
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowThe Naxos Video Library brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated to offer the best selection of performing arts videos.
An online search engine, allows users to search by composer, production, artist, venue, role or genre.
