Databases for Newspapers and Magazines
- Hit Songs Deconstructed This link opens in a new windowThe Hit Songs Deconstructed platform offers unparalleled insight into the craft and trends behind today’s hit songs and empowers music industry professionals with actionable data and analysis that can't be found anywhere else. It is the only resource that unites compositional analytics for the Hot 100 Top 10 with analysis of the songwriting and production techniques that went into crafting them.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to the full text of several Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Magazine and Archive Websites
North Side Hip Hop Archives (Canadian Hip Hop History)
Hip Hop Archive (Harvard University)
Pitchfork (Website for new music, alternative music and reviews)
NME (New Music Express) (New Music magazine from the UK)
Q Magazine (Music magazine from the UK)
Spin Magazine (Music magazine from the US)
XXL Magazine (Hip Hop)
The Source Magazine (Hip Hop and Entertainment)