LGBTQ+ Studies Research Guide

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Provides a significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

Periodicals provide the most up-to-date source of available information on your topic. The TMU Library provides access to a broad range of journals and periodicals in print and electronic formats.

Print Periodicals (journals, magazines) are located on the 5th floor, and are listed by title in the Library Catalogue.

The Library provides electronic access to the full-text of a large number of journals. These electronic journals, as well as our print journals, are listed in Journals by Title A-Z.

Major journal titles in Sexual Diversity Studies include:

Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality (CJHS). HQ56 .A1 C3 
CJHS is a quarterly peer-reviewed publication of SIECCAN, the Sex Information and Education Council of Canada. The journal publishes manuscripts from a variety of disciplines related to the study of human sexuality.

Canadian Online Journal of Queer Studies in Education 
“The Canadian Online Journal of Queer Studies in Education was created to provide a forum for scholars, professionals, and activists to discuss queer topics in education and the social sciences in the Canadian context. For the purposes of this journal, the term ‘education’ is understood broadly, to include all levels of education in every discipline. This journal is devoted to supporting and disseminating research and theory that promotes social justice for all queer people, including lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, intersex, two-spirited and trans-identified people.” (From the website; peer-reviewed, vol.1, no.1, 2004-.)

Canadian Women’s Studies = Les cahiers de la femme. HQ1181.C3 C36 
“Canadian Woman Studies is a feminist quarterly which was founded with the goal of making current writing and research on a wide variety of feminist topics accessible to the largest possible community of women. During our twenty years of publication we have attempted to create a forum in which all of us–not only university women–can exchange our ideas, personal experiences, expertise and creativity.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Gender Issues
“Gender Issues is dedicated to publishing basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similarities and differences in socialization, personality, and behavior; and on the changing aspirations, roles, and statuses of women in industrial, urban societies as well as in developing nations.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Gender, Place and Culture
“The aim of Gender, Place and Culture is to provide a forum for debate in human geography and related disciplines on theoretically-informed research concerned with gender issues. It also seeks to highlight the significance of such research for feminism and women’s studies.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
“GLQ provides a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, it publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

International Journal of Transgenderism
“The IJT is peer reviewed, published quarterly and updated with new articles during the quarter.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Journal of Gay and Lesbian Social Services. HV1449 .A1J68
“The articles are timely and organized around core issues. Valuable for both caregivers and researchers and invaluable for gay and lesbian service providers.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Journal of Gender Studies
“The Journal of Gender Studies is an interdisciplinary journal which publishes articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective covering a wide range of subject areas including the Social and Natural Sciences, Arts and Popular Culture. Reviews of books and details of forthcoming conferences are also included.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Journal of Homosexuality. HQ75 .J68
“The only journal devoted to empirical research on homosexuality and gender identity, it focuses on the social sciences. The contributors are professionals with an open and positive outlook toward sexual variations. It is the best source for current research on homophobia and other attitudes toward sexual minorities.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Journal of the History of Sexuality.
Journal of the History of Sexuality was established with the express intent of fostering scholarly debate and communication among the many individuals working in the history of sexuality.

Men and Masculinities. HQ1088.M458
“A refereed journal publishing the most recent gender studies research on men and masculinities. It presents empirical and theoretical articles that use both interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approaches, employ diverse methods and are grounded in current theoretical perspectives within gender studies, including feminism, queer theory and multiculturalism.”

Sex Roles.
“Sex Roles: A Journal of Research publishes original research articles and theoretical papers concerned with the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, perceptions, and attitudes.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society. HQ1101 .S5
“Signs publishes articles from a wide range of disciplines in a variety of voices-articles engaging gender, race, culture, class, sexuality, and / or nation. The focus of essays ranges from cross-disciplinary theorizing and methodologies to specific disciplinary issues, framed to enter conversations of interest across disciplines.” (From the publisher’s homepage.)

Women’s Studies International Forum. HQ1101 .W775
A multidisciplinary journal for the rapid publication of research communications and review articles in women’s studies.

Other popular titles in Sexual Diversity Studies include:

The Advocate HQ75 .A49
“The national gay and lesbian newsmagazine.” For more than 30 years, The Advocate (see also online) has been a leading voice for the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered communities.

The Body Politic (1971-1987) 
Index by author and title, to selected articles, compiled by staff of the Hudler Archives (Pride Library) University of Western Ontario. TBP was the leading Canadian lesbian/gay liberation newspaper for the period.
The newspaper articles are available as full-text pdf copies in LGBT Life. Paper copies are in TMU's closed stacks, HQ76.8.C3 B63.

The Gay and Lesbian Review Worldwide
A bimonthly journal of history, reviews, culture and politics, with quite a number of notable writers contributing.

Lambda Book Report
Online resource to a contemporary review of gay and lesbian literature.

Perceptions 
An index, compiled by Alex Spence, to the first twenty-two years of Perceptions, a Saskatchewan gay/lesbian magazine. It is an index to the first 173 issues of the periodical covering the years 1983 through 2004. A full run of the title is available at the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives.

Other Canadian Community Newspapers and Magazine (online in pdf format):

Outlooks (Calgary)
Outwords (formerly Swerve, Winnipeg) archive 2010-
RG: Guide gai du Québec (Montreal)
Wayves (Halifax) 2005-
Xtra! (Toronto) archive 1999-2004 (Full text 2003- via LGBT Life)

To find articles on specific topics within journals, you should use Articles and Indexes. An excellent starting point is LGBT Life.

In 2006, Primary Source Microfilms digitized several hundred Canadian lgbt periodicals from the holdings of the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives. A guide to the titles and issues scanned is available from the Robarts Library, University of Toronto.

Periodical contains significant amounts of Canadian content.