GCM 710 -- The Art of the Book

This site features nearly 100 case studies – short essays written by Canadian scholars – on topics relating to Canadian publishing. The case studies are augmented with letters, photographs, multimedia, and other materials from publishers’ and authors’ archives at McMaster University Library, Queen’s University Archives, and The Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library (University of Toronto).

Includes short articles on recent noteworthy gifts to and acquisitions of the Library, recent or current exhibitions in the Library, activities of the Friends, and other short articles about the Library’s collections. Site includes and index and full text. Includes links to exhibition catalogues on the page.

Scroll down to Newsletters to see copies of Noteworthy.

Founded in 1965, the society is the only organization in Canada dedicated to the entire range of interests relating to books: publishing, book design and production, bookselling, book buying and collecting, printing, binding, papermaking, calligraphy and illustration.

The Bibliographical Society of Canada/La Société bibliographique du Canada is a bilingual (English/French) organization that has as its goal the scholarly study of the history, description, and transmission of texts in all media and formats, with a primary emphasis on Canada.

From its inception in 1983, the organization provided the quarterly CBBAG Newsletter to the membership. Packed with articles, tips, and timely information, the Newsletter became the link from the central organization to all members. Two issues of the CBBAG Journal were published (2007 and 2009). In 2010, the decision was made to replace the Newsletter and Journal with the current magazine,
Book Arts arts du livre Canada.

Information about the publishing program at SFU including information about research from the Canadian Institute for Studies in Publishing.

SHARP is and international organization noted for stimulating annual conferences where presentations may include research on authorship, editing, printing, publishing, media, the book arts, the book trade, periodicals, newspapers, ephemera, copyright, censorship, literary agents, libraries, literary criticism, canon formation, literacy, literary education, reading habits, and reader response. It also publishes an annual journal, Book History.

Offers intensive, continuing education opportunities.

TMU Library does have access to this society's journal The Library from 1899-

TMU Library has access to this society's Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America from 1904-2000.

Founded in New York in 1971 as an affiliate of the UK William Morris Society, the William Morris Society in the United States strives to publicize the life and work of William Morris and his associates.

Describes over 1400 archival collections beginning before 1995 which relate to the history of secular English-language book publishing in Canada. This is one of the scholarly research databases housed at Simon Fraser Univeristy.

Drawing on more than 300 printed sources, this database provides bibliographical references to articles about Canadian publishing that were issued between 1935 and 1985.