ENG 810 Winter 2024 (Dr. S. Bull) Advanced English Research Methods

TMU Library Search Everything This search engine searches for books and audio-visual materials that are also listed in the library's catalogue, as well as journal articles (chiefly those that are available electronically), theses and dissertations, newspaper coverage from some recent and a selection of archival newspapers, and digitized content such as out-of-copyright books and journals that are available from sources such as The Internet Archive and The Hathi Trust.

If you want to try a more focused search restricted to databases emphasizing English Literature, try the following resources:

To explore your research question in the context of the literature produced at the time of the Yellow Book, try multiple searches refining your search terms. Remember to keep exact phrases within "quotation marks," and to use capitalization when using the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT.

Possible search terms:

"evergreen a northern seasonal"

"fairy tales"

"fin de siecle"

folklore OR "folk lore"

"little magazines"

"modern woman"

"short story"

"new woman" OR "modern woman"

"yellow book"

"the name of the short story or fairy tale that you have chosen to study"

Try Combining concepts with the Boolean operator AND

"little magazines" AND victorian

(folklore OR "folk lore") AND victorian AND (magazines OR serials OR periodicals)

• The Yellow Nineties 2.0 (formerly The Yellow Nineties Online)

  Edited by Dennis Denisoff and Lorraine Janzen Kooistra. This is an open access, peer-reviewed scholarly resource focusing upon The Yellow Book and other avant-garde aesthetic periodicals that flourished in Great Britain at the fin-de-siècle.

The Toronto Public Library has an excellent collection that supports the study of English literature, visual arts, history and other disciplines. Many scholarly works are only available at the Toronto Reference Library located on Yonge Street one block north of Bloor Street. These items generally must be used in the library. Some material is part of the vast circulating collection. Online databases and books are becoming more common.

Print Indexes

Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature : 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922
This resource complements TMU Library's electronic access to C19: The Nineteenth Century Index.

Indexes to individual journals or periodicals may be found by searching the name of the journal as a subject.
Some more general searches will reveal the types of indexes available:

19th century indexes
19th century periodicals indexes

Print Bibliographies and Catalogue raisonnés

Bibliographies exist for many important writers and artists. They can help you identify additional resources that may not be easily found in online databases. Try searching the TPL catalogue, using your subject's personal name word bibliography, or, catalogue raisonnes

example: beardsley aubrey bibliography
example: sargent john singer catalogue raisonnes

Online Resources

Literary Sources Online covers contemporary and classical literature, drama and poetry as well as children's literature.

A TPL account is required for log-in.  All members of the TMU Community are eligible for TPL borrowing privileges

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly and peer reviewed literature. From one search box, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites

As of March 2015, Wikipedia reported that approximately 160 million documents were indexed by Google Scholar. Coverage of topics in Google Scholar varies from discipline to discipline as many journal publishers do not allow Google to index their articles; in many cases searching subject specific databases will result in a better choice of articles.

If you are searching with Google Scholar on-campus you will automatically be given access to articles for which TMU has a subscription.  If you are using Google Scholar off-campus, you will need to configure Google Scholar to get access to those articles.

Configuring Google Scholar for Off-campus Use

This guide has been created by the Toronto Metropolitan University Library and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License unless otherwise marked.