Librarian
Resources
- Gateway to Health Communication & Social Marketing PracticeCenter for Disease Control and Prevention - Provides links to numerous CDC campaigns plus other health communication and social marketing materials and interventions. Seeing what has worked in the past may help you as you develop your health promotion materials and campaigns.
- Government of Canada - Health PromotionLinks to reports and policies on a number of different Canadian health issues and populations. Includes child health, pregnancy, health living, injury prevention, mental health, obesity, rural health and seniors health.
Books
Planning Health Promotion Programs by
The Intervention Mapping bible, updated with new theory, trends, and cases Planning Health Promotion Programs is the "bible" of the field, guiding students and practitioners through the planning process from a highly practical perspective. Using an original framework called Intervention Mapping, this book presents a series of steps, tasks, and processes that help you develop effective health promotion and education programs using a variety of approaches. As no single model can accurately predict all health behavior or environmental changes, this book shows you how to choose useful theories and integrate constructs from multiple theories to describe health problems and develop appropriate promotion and education solutions. This new fourth edition has been streamlined for efficiency, with information on the latest theories and trends in public health, including competency-based training and inter-professional education. New examples and case studies show you these concepts in action, and the companion website provides lecture slides, additional case studies, and a test bank to bring this book directly into the classroom. Health education and health promotion is a central function of many public health roles, and new models, theories, and planning approaches are always emerging. This book guides you through the planning process using the latest developments in the field, and a practical approach that serves across discipline boundaries. Merge multiple theories into a single health education solution Learn the methods and processes of intervention planning Gain a practical understanding of multiple planning approaches Get up to date on the latest theories, trends, and developments in the field Both academic and practice settings need a realistic planning handbook based on system, not prescription. Planning Health Promotion Programs is the essential guide to the process, equipping you with the knowledge and skills to develop solutions without a one-size-fits-all approach.
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9781119035398Publication Date: 2016
Featured Resource
Designing Health Messages by
How do you design an effective message for a health campaign? This book explores this question from both practical and theoretical perspectives. The contributors demonstrate the necessity of basing message design decisions on appropriate theories of human behavior and communication effectiveness by synthesizing and integrating knowledge and insights from theory and research in communication and health behavior change. This book will be an essential aid to designing messages for use in health communication campaigns.
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9780803953987Publication Date: 1995
Essentials of Health Behavior: Social and Behavioral Theory in Public Health by
Essentials of Health Behavior is an introduction to the relationship between behavior and a selection of major health issues. In clear and accessible language, it provides the student with a background of the kinds of social and behavioral theories that guide our understanding of health related behavior and that form the background for health promotion and prevention efforts. Filled with real life examples and profiles, the text explores some of the ways in which these theories and approaches are used in applied health promotion efforts.Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Cases 3, 5-11, 13, 18, & 20 in Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9781284145366Publication Date: 2020
Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice by
The essential health behavior text, updated with the latest theories, research, and issues Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides a thorough introduction to understanding and changing health behavior, core tenets of the public health role. Covering theory, applications, and research, this comprehensive book has become the gold standard of health behavior texts. This new fifth edition has been updated to reflect the most recent changes in the public health field with a focus on health behavior, including coverage of the intersection of health and community, culture, and communication, with detailed explanations of both established and emerging theories. Offering perspective applicable at the individual, interpersonal, group, and community levels, this essential guide provides the most complete coverage of the field to give public health students and practitioners an authoritative reference for both the theoretical and practical aspects of health behavior. A deep understanding of human behaviors is essential for effective public health and health care management. This guide provides the most complete, up-to-date information in the field, to give you a real-world understanding and the background knowledge to apply it successfully. Learn how e-health and social media factor into health communication Explore the link between culture and health, and the importance of community Get up to date on emerging theories of health behavior and their applications Examine the push toward evidence-based interventions, and global applications Written and edited by the leading health and social behavior theorists and researchers, Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides the information and real-world perspective that builds a solid understanding of how to analyze and improve health behaviors and health.
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9781118628980Publication Date: 2015
Intervention Strategies for Changing Health Behavior by
Changing habits, particularly habits that are self-destructive and unhealthy, is among the most challenging goals of therapists and coaches who work with clients in promoting a healthier lifestyle. The purpose of this book is to "help the helper," that is, to assist the person whose professional mission it is to provide a service that enables clients or patients to acknowledge their unhealthy habits and to replace them with more desirable, healthier routines. It focuses on the power of helping clients identify: (1) the inconsistency between their core values - what they consider most important in life - with one or more unhealthy habits, (2) the costs and long-term consequences of this inconsistency, called a "disconnect" in the model, and (3) their willingness to conclude that the consequences of this inconsistency is unacceptable. At that stage, (4) clients should be prepared to work with a coach in developing and carrying out an action plan that aims to remove the disconnect between the client's values and at least one of their unhealthy habits.
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9781138908123Publication Date: 2015
Promoting health, preventing disease : the economic case by
A growing body of evidence from economic studies shows areas where appropriate policies can generate health and other benefits at an affordable cost, sometimes reducing health expenditure and helping to redress health inequalities at the same time. The evidence is especially strong for policies to curb tobacco smoking and harmful alcohol use, while gaps still exist in the evidence base on tackling unhealthy diets and lack of physical activity, as well as environmental exposures and road accidents. The book underscores the importance of taking a whole-of-government and whole-of-society approach in addressing the rising tide of non-communicable diseases.
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9780335262267Publication Date: 2015
