Librarian
Medical Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. - Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Medline database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts for articles from over 4,300 current biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. - Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a user-friendly multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support complete with a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources. The Nursing & Allied Health Database is best used for those preparing for a career in healthcare, teaching patient care, or engaged in nursing research. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.
For information on Scopus APIs, go Elsevier website
Helpful Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) can be incorporated into your search strategy in combination with other keywords to increase precision and relevance. MeSH terms can be used in Medline databases such as PubMed and Ovid Medline.
Examples:
Health Behavior [Mesh] AND African Americans AND hypertension
Health Knowledge, Attitudes, Practice [Mesh] AND childhood obesity AND nutrition
- Attitude to Health Public attitudes toward health, disease, and the medical care system.
- Community Health Planning Planning that has the goals of improving health, improving accessibility to health services, and promoting efficiency in the provision of services and resources on a comprehensive basis for a whole community.
- Epidemiologic Factors Events, characteristics, or other definable entities that have the potential to bring about a change in a health condition or other defined outcome.
- Health Behavior Behaviors expressed by individuals to protect, maintain or promote their health status. For example, proper diet, and appropriate exercise are activities perceived to influence health status. Life style is closely associated with health behavior and factors influencing life style are socioeconomic, educational, and cultural.
- Healthcare Disparities Differences in access to or availability of medical facilities and services.
- Health Communication The transfer of information from experts in the medical and public health fields to patients and the public. The study and use of communication strategies to inform and influence individual and community decisions that enhance health.
- Health Education Education that increases the awareness and favorably influences the attitudes and knowledge relating to the improvement of health on a personal or community basis.
- Health Knowledge, Attitudes, Practice Knowledge, attitudes, and associated behaviors which pertain to health-related topics such as pathologic processes or diseases, their prevention, and treatment.
- Health Literacy Degree to which individuals have the capacity to obtain, process, and understand basic health information and services needed to make appropriate health decisions.
- Health Promotion Encouraging consumer behaviors most likely to optimize health potentials (physical and psychosocial) through health information, preventive programs, and access to medical care.
- Policy Making The decision process by which individuals, groups or institutions establish policies pertaining to plans, programs or procedures.
- Primary Prevention Specific practices for the prevention of disease or mental disorders in susceptible individuals or populations. These include health promotion, including mental health; protective procedures, such as communicable disease control; and monitoring and regulation of environmental pollutants.
- Social Determinants of Health The circumstances in which people are born, grow up, live, work, and age, as well as the systems put in place to deal with illness. These circumstances are in turn shaped by a wider set of forces: economics, social policies, and politics (http://www.cdc.gov/socialdeterminants/).
Public Health - Search Strategies
Click on the canned searches below. In PubMed, you can modify these search strategies by focusing on a specific demographic or geographical location.
- Health Disparities: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/queries/health_disparities_details.html
- Population Health: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/queries/population_health_strategy.html
Additional Topics: https://phpartners.org/hp2020/#Search%20by%20Focus%20Area