Article Databases
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
-
OSH References Collection This link opens in a new window
Available through CCInfo databases, the OSH References Collection allows users to search several bibliographic databases covering occupational health and safety related information. This a combined search tool that provides access to the following databases by using limiters for:
- Canadiana
- CISILO
- HSELINE
- NIOSHTIC
- OSHLINE
-
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Contains scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, economics.
Maximum 4 simultaneous users -
PsycINFO (APA PsycNET) This link opens in a new windowThis database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1806 - current -
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Services Abstracts provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts is the fundamental tool for access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Produced by Sociological Abstracts, Inc., the database contains abstracts from 1,809 journals published since 1963 and enhanced bibliographic citations for dissertations added since 1986. Sociological Abstracts references journal articles, dissertations, book abstracts, chapter abstracts, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software.
Books
-
Communicating Women's Health
by
This volume explores the conditions under which women are empowered, and feel entitled, to make the health decisions that are best for them. At its core, it illuminates how the most basic element of communication, voice, has been summarily suppressed for entire groups of women when it comes to control of their own sexuality, reproductive lives, and health. By giving voice to these women's experiences, the book shines a light on ways to improve health communication for women. Bringing together personal narratives, key theory and literature, and original qualitative and quantitative studies, the book provides an in-depth comparative picture of how and why women's health varies for distinct groups of women. Organized into four parts--historical influences on patient and provider perceptions, breast cancer the silence and the shame, make it taboo: mothering, reproduction, and womanhood, and sex, sexuality, relational health, and womanhood--each section is introduced with a brief synthesis and discussion of the key questions addressed across the chapters.
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9781138841611Publication Date: 2015-12-07 -
Crisis Communication and the Public Health
by
Call Number: RA423.2 .C75 2008ISBN: 9781572737518Publication Date: 2007Recent developments have created the need for health communication to expand its parameters into the field of crisis communication. This book spans the fields of crisis communication, health communication, and public health by taking a broad-based approach to the issue of crisis communication and the public health. There is a tangible and immediate need to address these issues and this is the first text specifically to do so. -
Essentials of Public Health Communication
by
The field of communications is increasingly recognized as a powerful tool in addressing the world's most imperative public health challenges. Effective communication in health campaigns can inform, empower, or persuade individuals to adopt healthier lifestyles as well as foster public debate and policy change.Featuring a full chapter on informatics, this book is devoted to the competencies in health communication and informatics recommended by the Association of Schools of Public Health. With chapter contributions from some of the leading experts in public health informatics and epidemiology, health communication and evaluation, Essentials of Public Health Communications introduces concepts and examples that will prepare students to enter a local health department, community organization or government agency, and contribute to health communication research, patient counseling, materials design, program management and media relations. Written specifically for student use, this book presumes no prior knowledge of the health communication or the informatics fields. Concepts are presented in clear, jargon free language, with terms defined throughout.Key Features:* Rather than simply presenting theories and cases, this text emphasizes the framework and methods, breaking down complex tasks into steps for mastery. * Simplifies key concepts in public health informatics, and how data are transformed into useful information and effective presentations. * Examines how health communication is actively being used by the leading public health agencies and organizations today. * A companion website provides a complete package of instructor resources including sample syllabi and curriculum guides for two semesters of instruction, as well as small scale research projects. * Includes suggested health communication projects that can be implemented at an academic institution, or small scale community level, to enable hands-on learning. Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Cases 1, 5, 6, 10, 15, 16, & 18-21 in Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.
Call Number: R118 E87 2010ISBN: 9780763771157Publication Date: 2010-09-29 -
Health Communication
by
Designed as a textbook for classroom use Glossary and bibliograpy will be useful pedagogy
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9780387261157Publication Date: 2007 -
Health Communication in the 21st Century
by
This popular and engaging text on health communication is now revised and updated in a second edition that incorporates recent research and boasts new material on topics such as crisis communication, social disparities in health, and systemic reform. Fully revised second edition of this popular and authoritative text Includes fresh material on topics such as crisis communication, health care reform, global health issues, and political issues in health communication New case studies, examples, and updated glossary keep the work relevant and student-friendly Provides effective strategies for healthcare organizations and individuals in communicating with patients Updated and enhanced online resources, including PowerPoint slides, test bank, and instructors manual, available upon publication at www.wiley.com/go/wright
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9781118339794Publication Date: 2013 -
Innovations in Social Marketing and Public Health Communication
by
This volume presents the most current theoretical advances in the fields of social marketing and public health communications. The volume is divided in two parts. Part 1 contains chapters pertaining to research and theory reflecting improvements and contributions to theories that help improving quality of life. It includes literature reviews, conceptual research and empirical studies on social marketing communications, models to understand individual's risky behaviors, and how to improve social interventions. The second part emphasizes applied research, consisting of best practices, applied experiments, and case studies on social marketing innovative practices with implications for quality of life.
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9783319198699Publication Date: 2015 -
Oxford Handbook of Health Communication, Behavior Change, and Treatment Adherence
by
Better health all around - this is what clinicians and patients, alike, desire. But achieving and maintaining good health can be difficult task, as this requires the adoption of behaviors, habits, and lifestyles that are challenging for a variety of reasons. Perhaps the most vital tool in thedelivery of healthcare, despite its low-tech nature, is communication - it plays an important role in informing, motivating, and ultimately achieving optimal health behaviors. This edited volume brings together top-notch scientists and practitioners to explain and illustrate the state-of-the-art inthe interfaces of health communication, behavior change, and treatment adherence. The Oxford Handbook of Health Communication, Behavior Change, and Treatment Adherence presents a three-factor model that includes information, motivation, and strategy. If individuals are to engage in health-promoting behaviors they must be informed and know what they should do and how to do it. Butinformation is not enough - individuals must want to carry out those behaviors, they must be motivated to do so. Finally, people must have the resources to do those things that they know are good and that they desire to do - barriers must be minimized or removed and effective strategies and supportsystems put into place. Although these three elements are broadly applicable, their details will necessarily vary; the second major section of the handbook therefore revisits health behavior change and treatment adherence from the perspective of different points in the lifespan and in the context ofcomorbidities.Readers will find in this handbook a synthesis of cutting-edge empirical research and demonstrably effective applications, solidly grounded in theory. Clearly written by some of the best scholars and professionals in the field, this volume is accessible, highly informative, and a must-have forunderstanding the ins-and-outs of health communication, behavior change, and treatment adherence.
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9780199795833Publication Date: 2014 -
Research Methods in Health Communication
by
This volume provides an essential roster of primary research methods as they apply to health communication inquiry. Editor Bryan B. Whaley brings together key health communication researchers to write about their primary methodological areas. Their chapters offer guidance and insights for a variety of approaches to answering research questions. The methods included here cover: Exploration and Description: interview/focus groups, case study, ethnography, and surveys; Examining Messages and Interpersonal Exchanges: narrative analysis, conversational analysis, analyzing physician-patient interactions, social network analysis, and content analysis; Causal Explication: experimental research, meta-analysis, and meta-synthesis; and Cultural, Population, and Critical Concerns: rhetorical methods and criticism, and methodological issues when investigating stigmatized populations, and groups with health disparities. Chapters cite or use examples from allied health areas -- nursing, public health, sociology, medicine -- to demonstrate the breadth of health communication studies. This work highlights the importance of methodology in health communication research in multiple contexts. Developed to provide a fundamental reference for investigating health communication, this volume will serve as an invaluable tool for researchers and students across the social science and health disciplines.
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9780415531863Publication Date: 2014 -
Strategic Urban Health Communication
by
Strategic Urban Health Communication Charles C. Okigbo, editor People are bombarded with messages continuously and sorting through them constantly. In this milieu, critical ideas about health promotion and illness prevention are forced to compete with distracting, conflicting, even contradictory information. To get vital messages through, communication must be effective, targeted, artful--in a word, strategic. Strategic Urban Health Communication provides a road map for understanding strategy, enhancing strategic planning skills, and implementing strategic communication campaigns. Deftly written chapters link the art and science of strategic planning to world health goals such as reducing health inequities and eradicating diseases. Flexibility is at the heart of these cases, which span developed and developing countries, uses of traditional and digital media, and chronic and acute health challenges. And the contributors ground their dispatches in the larger context of health promotion, giving readers useful examples of thinking globally while working locally. Included in the coverage: Urbanization, population, and health myths: addressing common misconceptions. Integrating HIV/family planning programs: opportunities for strategic communication. The role of sports in strategic health promotion in low-income areas. The Internet as a sex education tool: a case study from Thailand. Advertising and childhood obesity in China. Health communication strategies for sustainable development in a globalized world. Balancing depth of understanding of audiences and methods of reaching them, Strategic Urban Health Communication is a forward-looking resource geared toward professionals and researchers in urban health, global health, and health communication.
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9781461493358Publication Date: 2013 -
Health and Safety Communication
by
Call Number: RA423.2 .A53 2017ISBN: 9781138647442Publication Date: 2017 -
-
Successful Grant Writing: strategies for health and human service professionals
by
ISBN: 9780826101037Publication Date: 2013 -
Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and DNP Projects
by
ISBN: 9780826144430Publication Date: 2017
