TMU Libraries--Books, E-books and Video/Audio Formats
Omni replaces the traditional catalogue that used to search for books, e-books, dvds, and other resources except for journal articles. Now, Omni can be used to look for known books, or when using the default (a keyword) search to find some relevant titles for an assignment. You can use the Browse Search with the drop down option for Library of Congress Subject Heading. This type of search is ideal for finding Books and Ebooks in our collection. It will display a selective index of subject headings most relevant to your search When you find book records, you can use the Subject terms in the record to link to similar items. If you want to find books, e-books and articles at the same time, consider using Omni Advanced Search and Subject Contains ...
Some useful subject searches using Omni Browse Searching:
Child, Julia
Cookbooks
Cooking History
Cooking Canada History
Cooking, Canadian
Eating customs History
Food Canada
Food History
Food habits
Food industry and trade
Recipes
Name of a person searched in Advanced Search, Subject contains: ...
Edna Staebler
Julia Child
Madame Benoit
Nellie Pattinson
Topical search using keywords in a Advanced Search, Subject contains:
Arab Cooking on a Prairie Homestead by Call Number: printISBN: 9780889775183Publication Date: 2017 New edition.
Edible Histories, Cultural Politics by Call Number: E-Book, Online; Access restricted to TMU communityISBN: 9781442612839Publication Date: 2012
Food in Time and Place by Call Number: E-Book, Online; Access restricted to TMU communityISBN: 9780520959347Publication Date: 2014
Food Will Win the War by Call Number: E-Book, Online; Access restricted to the TMU communityISBN: 9780774827638Publication Date: 2014- Mixed Messages: Making and Shaping Culinary Culture in Canada byCall Number: print onlyISBN: 9780772761248Publication Date: 2018
- The Routledge History of Food byCall Number: E-Book, Online; Access restricted to TMU communityISBN: 9781315753454Publication Date: 2015
Quick Facts
Encyclopedias and dictionaries
remain useful sources of quick information. In addition to free sources such as Wikipedia, consider some of our licensed electronic content from publishers such as Oxford University Press, as well as printed items.
Try using Omni, Advanced Search and Subject contains: [type a topical word or words] and etiher dictionaries, or, encyclopedias
Example Subject contains searches:
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference, previously known as Oxford Reference Online Premium, comprises more than 120 dictionaries and reference titles covering a comprehensive subject spectrum including: General Reference, Language, Science and Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Professional content.
Some Free Online Resources
Many books and journals that were published up to 1924 CE are in the public domain (no longer protected by local copyright laws) and available digitally from major sources such as the Internet Archive (https://archive.org/), the Hathi Trust, and from individual libraries, museums and archives via their digital collections.
Here is a sample search using the Internet Archive and keywords Canadian cook book
Here is a sample search using the Hathi Trust digital library, with parameters Full-text, and, Full view only and the search terms Canadian cook book
Many libraries have digitized selected cookbooks, including the Florida State University digital collection of Cookbooks and Herbals