Skip to Main Content
Home

CINT555 research resources: Find Articles

Quick Guide to Database Searching (Infographic)

The CRAAP Test for evaluating sources (Infographic)

Quick Summary

Find Articlesdecorative

1. Search Everything - after you search, narrow your results to articles

OR......

2. The Databases Tab on our homepage - search by your subject area for articles.

More Information:decorative

Find Articles (In depth instructions)

How to Search (Keywords)

What are Articles & Databases

Use Google Scholar to find Articles

Evaluate your Sources

Google vs the Library for Finding Sources

decorativeGoogle is great at finding the best local sushi place, but it will not give you access to the books, scholarly articles or other sources you need for research.

Many sources like scholarly articles cost money and are only available on our library website (after you log-in with your student ID).

Plus, TMU Library’s librarians have curated a collection of the best and most scholarly sources for you. Instead of searching on Google, why not try a controlled environment that has been customized for academic research?

So when should you choose Google? Google can be useful in finding grey literature and starting your research to get a feel for your topic.

 

The library’s website has search tools to help you find the sources you need.  

Find Articles (In depth Instructions)

Search Everything:

  • Discovery search box (like Google for Libraries). Searches across our collections of article databases, books, and ebooks etc.,  

  • Use to find:  books, ebooks, scholarly articles, newspaper, magazines.

Search Everything bar

Directions:

 

1. Search using keywords (or the title/author if you know it)

 

2. Refine using filters on the left of the result page.

  • Content type (book, journal article, newspaper etc.,)  
  • Full Text online
  • Peer reviewed,
  • Publication date, discipline etc.,​​

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

​3. Get your sources.

  1. Online Items Only link is for articles and ebooks

    1. Link will bring you to another page with the full text of the article or ebook.

  2. Books - Status and Location (call number)

    1. Status will be either Available or Due (plus the date it is due back)

  3. Save or Cite your results using the icons on the right side of your source.  


 

 

Article Databases:

  • The Library subscribes to various databases that contain collections of scholarly articles, newspapers, magazines, reports, videos,etc.

  • Use to find: scholarly & peer reviewed articles, newspapers, magazines, corporate reports, trade magazines, online videos and images.

 

decorativeFor more information see:

What are articles and databases


Directions (Locating Databases): 

  1. Locate the Research Databases tab on the Library’s homepagehighlight of database tab on search everything

  2. Pick your subject area or “multi-disciplinary” etc.,

  3. Choose from a list of databases in your subject area

    1. You will have to search more than one database – different databases contain different articles on your topic

Directions (Searching within Databases)

  1. Search using keywords

  2. Use the menu options to refine your results*

    1. Peer Reviewed, date range, etc.,

  3. Use the save or cite options*

 

*Because each database is owned by a different company, the location of the refine options and save / cite options are in different locations on the result page for each database.

 

 

Examples:

Search ProQuest (Video)

Search EBSCO (Video)