Law School Success

Also available in print.

The Importance of Legal Research -- Step-By-Step Legal Research Process -- Use Commentary to Define and Understand the Issues -- Guidelines for Online Research -- Researching Canadian Federal and Provincial Legislation -- Searching Canadian Case Law -- Restate the Issues and Refine Your Strategy -- Review and Assess the Case Law -- Stare Decisis and Techniques of Legal Reasoning and Legal Argument -- If You Get Stuck -- When to Stop -- Preparing a Legal Memorandum -- Legal Citation -- Appendix 1: Sample Memorandum of Law -- Appendix 2: Suggested Textbooks -- Appendix 3: Glossary.

Legal Research and Writing, Third Edition seeks to explain the practical skills needed for print and online legal research and for legal writing. It provides a current and comprehensive look at the topic, consolidating information on legal research and writing into one handy, easy-to-use resource.

The author provides readers with practical commentary on effective legal research in the context of the complete legal problem solving process, and offer a structured framework to efficiently navigate paper-based resources and online databases.

This is a print book.

Synthesis: Legal Reading, Reasoning, and Writing in Canada, 4th Edition is an effective legal writing tool designed for students entering the legal profession, and for practitioners looking to refresh their legal writing skills

Writing to Win focuses on the writing of lawyers, not judges, and includes dozens of examples of effective (and ineffective) real-life legal writing—as well as compelling models drawn from advertising, journalism, and fiction. It deals with the challenges lawyers face in writing, from organization to strengthening and editing prose; offers incisive ways of improving arguments; addresses litigation and technical writing in all its forms; and covers the writing attorneys must perform in their daily practice, from email memos to briefs and contracts. This is an eBook.

In Professor Sankoff’s Guide to Persuasive Legal Writing, Peter shares years of accumulated tips, tricks, and guidance to take your writing to the next level. Designed with busy students and lawyers in mind, the book is filled with practical guidance, examples, and checklists to ensure tips can be easily understood and applied by readers.

This work is a practical legal analysis and writing handbook. Designed for first-year students, it is also a valuable refresher text for more advanced students, and for practitioners. This easy-to-read book features fundamental advice on how to communicate written and oral legal analysis from a problem-solving perspective. It features illustrative examples and templates. The fifth edition includes additional examples and models, and appendices with practice exercises and sample answers, all created in collaboration between one author with recent practice experience and one who has been teaching for over twenty years. It also incorporates professional ethical and technological considerations throughout, while providing learning objectives for each chapter.

Elegant Legal Writing helps attorneys elevate their writing from passable to polished. Drawing on ideas from cognitive science, stylistics, and litigation strategy, the book teaches practical techniques by example using fast-paced chapters. Readers will learn the essentials of effective legal composition: Writing clear, efficient prose Crafting strong arguments Telling a client's story through a compelling narrative Overcoming procrastination and drafting more productively Readability, aesthetics, and argumentation are intertwined.

Writing for Litigation, Third Edition, systematically addresses how audience, purpose, strategy, and ethics inform the shape, content, and tone of the full range of litigation documents. Kamela Bridges and Wayne Schiess explain how to draft litigation documents like a lawyer. And because litigation practice can't be boiled down to a few forms, the authors provide drafting instruction for the full range of documents used in litigation practice --from client engagement letter to motions, discovery, affidavits, and jury instructions.

Every client has a story. Your Client's Story: Effective Legal Writing, Third Edition, shows students how to tell that story effectively. The process of creating client-centered legal communication--from investigating facts and synthesizing the law, to document design--is essential, both for counseling clients and advocating on their behalf.

A high level of English remains essential for any lawyer wishing to work internationally, but transferring language skills from the classroom to the workplace can be challenging. This book shows non-native, English speaking lawyers how to apply their English language skills to everyday legal situations and contexts, providing essential guidance to ensure they can work confidently in different settings and mediums. Including activities based on real-life scenarios, the book will allow lawyers and law students to practise their English in key areas of working life, from networking and client meetings, to telephone and conference calls, contract drafting and contract negotiations, presentations and using social media.

Available for a 2-hour loan.

Chapters include: The basics of legal research -- Statutes -- Regulations -- Cases -- Analyzing a fact situation -- Preparing for and performing research -- Print research sources -- Online research sources -- Online searches -- Legal encyclopedias : print -- Legal encyclopedias : online -- Finding and updating statutes and regulations -- Finding and updating cases -- A sample research problem : from start to finish -- Legal writing. This is a print book.

Available for a 2-hour loan.