Finding Articles
Business and Information Technology crosses into many subject areas and disciplines, as such we are providing a list of databases based on some key subject areas in Business and Information Technology.
Core ICT Databases
- ACM Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text contents from ACM and Affiliated Organizations including Journals/Transactions, Magazines, SIG Newsletters and Conference Proceedings.
- dblp Computer Science BibliographyThe dblp computer science bibliography provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. Originally created at the University of Trier in 1993, dblp is now operated and further developed by Schloss Dagstuhl.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Engineering Village to search Compendex, Inspec, and Geobase. By default, only Compendex is selected.
The databases on the platform cover peer-reviewed engineering journals (many also supplying articles in press), conference proceedings, dissertations*, trade publications, patents and government reports across hundreds of engineering disciplines. *Note that certain content types, such as dissertations, are not accessible in every database. [Elsevier recommends using Firefox or Internet Explorer on Windows for the best search experience.] - Faulkner's Advisory for Information Technology Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Faulkner Advisory on IT Studies is a computer and communications reference service designed for the academic community. The database consists of reports covering key technology areas and offers several different report types including technology tutorials, marketplace overviews, product and service selection guides, product and company profiles, and directories.
FAITS also provides links to major online technology and business news resources like Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC. - IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Digital Library offers access to the abstracts and full-text material published since 1988, plus select content back to 1950, of journals, transactions, and magazines, conference proceedings, IEEE journals, IEEE conference proceedings and current IEEE standards.
New Content available - IEEE Xplore SAE eBooks 2022 - SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Business Databases
General
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more. - Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines. - ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
For more business databases, visit our A-Z Business database list.
Industry Research
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence for over 450 Canadian industries and over 700 US industries, including NAICS, specialized, and expert industry reports. Reports include detailed performance data and analysis, supply chain information, forecasts, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, major player market strategies, and industry profit and cost benchmarks. Global and China industry reports are also available. - Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive insight and analysis on consumers, companies, markets, brands and products. Toronto Metropolitan has access to most of the Canadian reports and the complete set of U.S. reports - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista.com is one of the first statistics portals to integrate over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Toronto Metropolitan has access to Global Consumer Survey (GCS) via Statista. - Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GMID, from Euromonitor International, contains demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries. The historical and forecast data enable users to analyze trends from 1977 to 2020. Unique country rankings help users gauge one country’s position in the world relative to another. GMID contains a range of lifestyle indicators such as disposable income availability, consumer expenditure trends, eating and drinking habits, home ownership statistics, and health data. The database contains market research reports on industries, consumer lifestyles, and retailing. - GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer is a comprehensive database including cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders, job analytics. GD Explorer meets the needs of multiple disciplines and departments with cross sector coverage.
A note about GlobalData Explorer access:
Sometimes when accessing GlobalData, you may come across a Login page (see screenshot below). If this happens, just click on “IP Access” to access the database.
Company Research
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is a subscription-based service offering over 10,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies. What began in 1997 as Company Data Direct — a subscription service of 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges, has expanded into a “suite” of global business and financial information products carefully designed to offer the respected investment research tools that you have come to rely on from Mergent.
In Mergent Online, the third tab “Mergent Private Company Search” provides access to Dun and Bradstreet Million Dollar Directory. This is also available through Advanced Search. Also known as D&B Private Company Database, this database provide access to information of 35 million D&B private companies.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is an online reference system that offers a variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. - IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ingentaconnect is an index to multi-disciplinary journals. Along with bibliographic citations it also allows for viewing of tables of contents for individual journal titles. The database is current as references are added daily. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. - Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholars Portal Journals is a digital repository of over 22 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.
For information on Scopus APIs, go Elsevier website - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is the online version of the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Users can search 8,500 international research journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The Web of Science also provides cited reference searching
Newspapers & Magazines
Below are a few databases where you can find Canadian, US and global news. For more news sources, including historical archives, visit the Newspaper Research Guide.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to the full text of several Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream is part of Global Newsstream. It enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.