Research Guides: Nursing: Clinical Tools

Clinical and Point-of-Care Tools, and Other Resources

UptoDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UptoDate offers point-of-care clinical resource and decision-making tool containing medical and patient information, drug handbooks, and medical calculators. Click here for login instructions.

UpToDate Covid Content
Provides a categorized collection of all UpToDate COVID-19 content including clinical topics, algorithms, patient education and society guideline links.

Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (also known as EBM Reviews) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Complete reviews: Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups. Protocols: Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
COCH is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration – an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care. In pursuing its aims, the Cochrane Collaboration is guided by six principles: collaboration, building on people’s existing enthusiasm and interests, minimizing duplication of effort, avoidance of bias, keeping up to date, and ensuring access.
CPS - Canadian Standard for Drug & Therapeutic Information This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CPS Full Access (Also known as: e-Therapeutics+|Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties|eCPS|eTherapeutics|e-CPS| RxTx (formerly e-Therapeutics+) integrates content from CPhA's Therapeutic Choices and e-CPS(online version of Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties or CPS) is the Canadian standard for drug monographs, containing thousands of products including monographs for drugs, vaccines, natural health products and medical devices approved by Health Canada. It also includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables and algorithms and DC condition-based drug tables. The database provides critical updates such as warnings and advisories and useful tools such as medical calculators, Clin-Info, Pill Identifier and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker.

CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada. Currently, there are over 1,200 guidelines in this database. CPG Infobase is maintained by Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) are statements that include recommendations to optimize patient care. Involves a high level of evidence processing.
Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence the database also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.