Research Guides: Middle East and North Africa Studies (MENA Studies): Journals and Articles

TMU Library Search Everything

TMU Library Search Everything
This search engine searches for journal articles (chiefly those that are available electronically and subscribed to by TMU), books, e-books, theses and dissertations, and newspaper articles from some recent and a selection of archival newspapers. It indexes digitized content such as out-of-copyright books and journals that are available from sources such as The Internet Archive and The Hathi Trust.

Refine your search using the filters on the left.

For more advanced searching across a more targeted set of resources, you may want to try a discipline specific indexing/abstracting database or collection as listed in the next box.

Using Basic Search Everything Video

SEARCH TIPS

Be specific. If you want to information related to a topic in a specific geographical entity such as Algeria, use the word Algeria rather than the more general terms Maghreb, or, Maghrib, or, Africa, North.

Phrases such as "middle east" OR the narrower term "arab countries" are quite useful in keyword searching especially when combined with topical keywords.

Try using truncated searches that use the *[asterisk] wildcard. For example, "arab*" will find words and phrases that begin with or contain "arab" "arabic" "arabian."

If searching for ethnic groups, use terms expressed as nouns as well as adjectives, for example Turks OR Turkish OR Turkic.

Key Indexing Resources and Digital Collections

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts is the fundamental tool for access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Produced by Sociological Abstracts, Inc., the database contains abstracts from 1,809 journals published since 1963 and enhanced bibliographic citations for dissertations added since 1986. Sociological Abstracts references journal articles, dissertations, book abstracts, chapter abstracts, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database contains abstracts of articles from journals relating to the history of the world (excluding Canada and the US) from 1450 to the present. Also included are abstracts of important books in this field.
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new window
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions through the following services: ViewsWire, Country Reports, and Country Profiles.
- ViewsWire provides daily updated analysis and views on business, economic trends, political and market developments from around the world. ViewsWire covers over 200 countries with three years of archived information.
- Country Reports provides in depth information on issues shaping the country: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, foreign trade and payments. Country Reports covers 200 countries and is updated monthly.
- Country Profile provides detailed background on a country’s economic and political status and background. Statistical tables give a five-year run of data on issues such as manufacturing, fiscal policy and unemployment. Country Profile covers 200 countries and is updated annually.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has created a full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers, current issues (usually the last 3 – 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. The Toronto Metropolitan University Library has access to the entire content of JSTOR’s archival journal collections.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides online access to the full text of over 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, mathematics and many others.

Toronto Metropolitan now has access to the following 2022 collections: African Studies, Gender Studies, History, Language and Linguistics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Music, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Philosophy and Religion, Political Science and Policy Studies, Public Health and Health Policy, Russian and East European Studies
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Leisure Tourism Database This link opens in a new window
Leisure Tourism contains records selected from the CAB ABSTRACTS® database. It brings together an archive of worldwide information for all those interested in the research and strategic development of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and hospitality activities, facilities, products and services.
Maximum 4 simultaneous users
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world. From hip hop to Händel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM provides bibliographic information, fully cited, abstracted, and indexed.

Current and Recent Newspapers

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

Search for individual newspapers and journals by title from our A-Z list of journal titles