Periodicals (magazines and newspapers)
In this section you will find recommended international, national and local periodicals. If you are interested in researching the broader Black diaspora outside of Canada, you may find the international section most helpful.
International
International
Factiva
Factiva provides access to over 1,000 global and local newspapers including the full text of the Globe & Mail from November 14, 1977, more than 6,500 magazines, including industry-specific journals and newsletters, 270+ newswires, including Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press, 160+ Media Programs, with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC and more, 9,000 Web sites in more than 20 languages and more than 20,000 Company Reports. On average, 3,000+ pictures are added each week from Reuters and Knight Ridder.
Global Newsstream
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
National
Canadian Newsstream
Provides access to a geographically comprehensive collection of approximately 200 newspaper titles from across Canada, both dailies and community papers The content is updated daily with a two to seven-day delay period.
CPI.Q
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals Index provides comprehensive coverage of 700 Canadian and international periodicals. All subject areas are represented, with an emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries.
Local (Current) Black Toronto Newspapers and Magazines
Local (Current) Black Toronto Newspapers and Magazines
Share News
Toronto weekly. Share Online Inc., operating as Sharenews.com, is the website of Share Newspaper, a weekly community newspaper which has served the Black and Caribbean community in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) of Ontario, Canada since April 9, 1978.
The Ghanaian News
Toronto. Monthly. The Ghanaian News Canada, publishes news and comments from the Community and serves Ghanaians across Canada with a good source of information. We are committed to high quality community journalism with a focus on Canadian and Ghanaian news.
Jamaica Gleaner Canada
Newspaper Website. Also publishes "Canada Extra" which is available in print at some stores.
Word: the Soul of Urban Culture
WORD, Toronto’s Urban Culture Magazine is an essential one-stop guide to music, black/urban culture, entertainment, news and opinion.
Urbanology
Launched in 2004, Urbanology Magazine appeals to those who grew up immersed in the many facets of hip-hop culture.
Historical Newspaper Databases
Black Studies Centre Newspapers
The full text backfile of the influential black newspapers