Retail Management

Euromonitor’s Passport includes industry and market research reports on the retail sector with analysis on national and international markets, and internationally comparable statistics. Historical and forecast data may be downloaded into spreadsheets. Browse various retail subsectors by using the ‘Industries’ menu or locate relevant information by entering keywords into the top search box > refine by geography if required.

IBISWorld provides industry intelligence for over 450 Canadian industries and over 700 US industries, including NAICS, specialized, and expert industry reports. Global and China industry reports are also available. Reports include detailed performance data and analysis, supply chain information, forecasts, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, major player market strategies, and industry profit and cost benchmarks. The retail industry and its niche subsectors are heavily covered in IBISWorld.

Provides industry reports for the US and some European countries.

The Conference Board of Canada is an independent, not-for-profit applied research organization in Canada. Its mission is to build leadership capacity for a better Canada by creating and sharing insights on economic trends, public policy, and organizational performance. The e-Library provides downloadable access to all Conference Board research documents; coverage includes market forecasts of retail trade activity in Canada.

*The e-Library cannot be searched with keywords. To find Industry Economics Reports: waive your cursor over ‘Topics’ > ‘Economics’ > ‘Industry Sector Economics’ > choose ‘Canadian Industrial Profiles’ and/or ‘Canadian Industrial Outlook Reports’.

Includes industry reports for approximately 25 industries worldwide, including the retail industry. Select the ‘Industry Analysis’ tab > refine by ‘Region’ if required.

WGSN is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. It delivers accurate trend forecasting and analysis up to two years in advance, in addition to consumer attitude and behaviour research, coverage of 80 international catwalks and 140 trade shows, plus up-to-the-minute global news, city guides, media and celebrity reports, and retail and street fashion analysis.

OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for books, papers, and statistics. Coverage includes reports and data on retail trade for the 34 OECD member countries and economies. Search the database with keywords, or browse by theme and/or country.

Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions. Coverage also includes insights on the consumer goods and retail industry for a number of countries. Select the ‘Industry’ tab > ‘Consumer Goods’ > ‘Subsectors’ > ‘Retail’.

Plunkett’s Research provides a complete guide to retail stores, retail services, catalog and online sales.