Company Profiles, Reports & SWOTS
The following databases are useful when retrieving information on companies such as company profiles, SWOT analysis, competitors, market share, products and services, and CSR.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing insights on companies, industries, economies and consumers worldwide. The database is useful for company research since it contains some local and global company profiles and SWOT analyses, including companies which operate in the retail industry. Search for a company in the top search box or select ‘Companies’ from the top menu and conduct your search. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista.com is one of the first statistics portals to integrate over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Toronto Metropolitan has access to Global Consumer Survey (GCS) via Statista. - ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. - Conference Board of Canada e-Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Conference Board of Canada is an independent, not-for-profit applied research organization in Canada. Its mission is to build leadership capacity for a better Canada by creating and sharing insights on economic trends, public policy and organizational performance. Profiles for Canadian companies are sometimes included in the industry reports.
*The e-Library cannot be searched with keywords. To find Industry Economics Reports: waive your cursor over ‘Topics’ > ‘Economics’ > ‘Industry Sector Economics’ > choose ‘Canadian Industrial Profiles’ and/or ‘Canadian Industrial Outlook Reports’. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a full-text database which focuses primarily on business, legal, and news resources, in additional to numerous global company profiles. A limited amount of SWOTS may be available.
Additional suggestions:
Students are encouraged to look at company annual reports and other company filings for information from which a SWOT may be derived. Information may also be found in company/industry news and trade magazines, analyst articles or reports, and authoritative Internet resources. Company websites, as promotion and marketing tools, will contain a wealth of information about the company as well, including products and services, and CSR information.